It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multicart for Atari 400
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:57 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:50 pm
Posts: 2
Trying to set up a 8mbit multicart from my Atari 400.

All the roms load fine in Maxflash Studio, previewing with the emulator also has everything working, but when I try the cart in the actual system many of the games load up to either a totally blank screen or garbled content.

I've tried different versions and types of roms, but to no avail.

Any advise or reference on settings I could try changing -- base address, local variable space, soft os options, etc -- to make things work?

For reference, these are the games I've been trying to get working:

    - Dig Dug
    - Donkey Kong
    - Donkey Kong Jr
    - James Bond 007
    - Mario Bros.
    - Mr. Do!
    - Popeye

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multicart for Atari 400
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:23 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Is the machine upgraded to at least 48k? Games that used to be cartridges will expect to run from RAM in these areas.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multicart for Atari 400
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:51 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:50 pm
Posts: 2
As far as I know it's just the default 16k that came with the system.

Is the flashcart by default assuming it has access to 48k? If so, is there any workaround to configure the flashcart to work with 16k?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multicart for Atari 400
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:40 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
Hi!

I found out that the AtariMax 8Mbit cart is not compatible with the Atari 400. Why is not clear yet.

Problem #1: On Pin S is not Ph2 signal, but RAS. That is easy to fix (I'll make a howto later)

Problem #2: The bankswitching doesn't work right on the 400. Why... no idea yet.

I have done a do-it-yourself memory upgrade (48K) ... although this one works pefect with any other cartridge (even the 128MB THE!CART) it fails with the 8Mbit cart.

I ordered a genuinge 48K upgrade from Best Electronics. I'll install it as soon as it arrives, and then I'll test the 8Mbit carts again.

I'm pretty sure it is a timing thing. And since the DIY upgrade has some extra logic, big chance that this causes unforgivable timing delays.
I hope that the genuine 48K upgrade will work better.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron