It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Reprogramming the 32-in-1 OS
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 3:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
Since there is no separate forum for the 32-in-1 OS, I will post my question here.

Steve, do you have an utility that creates a ROM image with menu out of a selection of OS rom images and descriptions?
Or should I build the image by hand and change the menu descriptions with a hex editor?

I want to reprogram the 32-in-1 OS flash chip with the latest MY-IDE OS.

Thanks,

Robert


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 5:35 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
I do but I have not released it yet. I'll PM you with the information in case you are willing to try it out. :)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
Thanks. It works :D


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:46 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
Just a bump on this topic. I recently purchased an 8MB flash cart, and I am also interested in reprogramming my 32-in-1 OS.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:41 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Stephen wrote:
Just a bump on this topic. I recently purchased an 8MB flash cart, and I am also interested in reprogramming my 32-in-1 OS.

Stephen Anderson


Hi Steve,

Go to:

http://www.atarimax.com/warpos/configurator/

This is currently password protected but I will PM you the login information.

Then build your OS using the on screen controls.

When you are done press the download button to download the flash rom image.

You can also save your configuration for later use or editing if you like.

Once you have the complete ready to program image, you can make it into a 8mbit cartridge image by doing:

copy /b rom.bin+rom.bin 8mbit_image.bin

Then use the maxflash kit to change the rom image into a flashing disk:

maxflash.pl -bin2atr -8mb 8mbit_image.bin

You can then use the resulting image to re-program the flash chip from your OS upgrade in the 8mbit cart.

Steve

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:48 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 89
Thanks.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Arizona USA
Hi Steve,

Quote:
You can then use the resulting image to re-program the flash chip from your OS upgrade in the 8mbit cart.

Just a small question, in the 8mbit cart are 2 chips, which position does the OS upgrade reside.

Or does it matter at all.



_________________
RoyE
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:46 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
The final image will reprogram both chips, so you can use either after its done, then re-flash the remaining chips with whatever used to be on your cart.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:17 am 

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 8:48 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Waterloo, ON Canada
I too would like to use this configurator - I'm guessing the board is not re-programmable in circuit, then?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:42 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
The current 32-in-1 is not in circuit programmable.

You have to remove the eprom and place it in a 8mbit flash cartridge, or into a compatible eprom programmer to change the OS choices.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 11:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
Is there a PAL hacked OS on the 32-in-1? I want to add a PAL Antic to your 1200XL!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:30 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Yes, there are a number of OSes with the PAL detection forced, they are marked -P in the menu. :)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
So if we go the Eprom programmer route, all we need to do it flash the 512k file to the Flash chip after erasing it correct? No need to double up the file, etc?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:52 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1035
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Correct, if you use a device programmer, you only need the bin file, as-is.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:17 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 5:51 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Tacoma, WA
I successfully erased and reflashed the chip on my programmer. Works great! I went ahead and removed all the Rev D Reverse Basic ROMs since not of them were reversed. (ie when I powered on BASIC came up) Not sure if that is due to me having a 1200XL or not.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron