It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 2:14 am




 Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
Hello there.

I'm actually a complete newbie when it comes to Atari computers. I grew up with Commodore's entire line of computers starting with the Vic 20 on up into the Amiga days. In parallel I also grew up with all of Atari's consoles. I always wanted to dive into the Atari side of computing but I never sold my parents on yet ANOTHER computer. So here I am years later with a like new Atari 800XL, 1050, MyIDEII, and 4 gig CF card.

Before I got the flashcard the only experience I had was playing a few of the 800XL carts I could find at my local thrift store. Now I would like to use the flashcard obviously. After viewing the two videos here I was able to prepare my CF for both MYDOS as well as FAT32.

My version of MyBIOS is 12-01-2012. After viewing these forums I still cannot figure out how to update it to the newest version. I'm sure it's a combination of me not understanding what I'm reading and being new to the whole Atari 8-bit scene.

If anyone would be kind enough to give me a step by step I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Hi,

Without the aid of the ATARIMAX programmer or a ATARI-PC link updating is a bit tricky.
1/ PC: You need to export the workbook as ATR file.
2/ ATARI: Change the current D1 to "-".
3/ ATARI: Create a partition D1: on your CF of 5000 SD sectors.
4/ Move the CF to your PC and use Manager_LBA2 .
5/ PC: Put the exported image to this partition. (safely remove/eject the CF)
6/ Move the CF to your ATARI.
7/ ATARI: Boot and follow the instructions.
8/ ATARI: remove this partition and restore your previous partition to D1:

This would do it.

Best is to wait for version #6, I'm going to release today.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:02 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
The next version of the FAT32 loader will be able to 'self update' the flash on the MyIDE-II from a file stored on the FAT32 partition.

Once its done I'll post it, along with a tutorial showing the various methods that can be used.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:32 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
classics wrote:
The next version of the FAT32 loader will be able to 'self update' the flash on the MyIDE-II from a file stored on the FAT32 partition.

Once its done I'll post it, along with a tutorial showing the various methods that can be used.

Steve


Sounds great. I will wait for this method as it sounds easiest. Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:42 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
I also have another question.

In the documentation of the latest FAT32 loader I read where while running ATR images was supported, it was recommended that the "image" feature be used for better functionality. I have placed several ATR images in the FAT32 portion of my CF card, however, when I go to the image function of MYBIOS none of them show up. Is this not the correct place for them?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:58 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
I posted an updated FAT32 loader today that can self-program the boot flash.

You need to open the workbook you want to use in Maxflash Studio and export the collection to a .BIN image on your FAT32 partition.

Then highlight the file and press Ctrl-F to use it to program the boot flash.

There are more detailed instructions (and warnings) in the FAT32 loader thread.

I will try to post a tutorial soon showing all the different ways it can also be accomplished with the Maxflash USB programmer and SIO2PC as well.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:01 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
thall72 wrote:
I also have another question.

In the documentation of the latest FAT32 loader I read where while running ATR images was supported, it was recommended that the "image" feature be used for better functionality. I have placed several ATR images in the FAT32 portion of my CF card, however, when I go to the image function of MYBIOS none of them show up. Is this not the correct place for them?


MyBIOS manages its own area of the card for its partitions and 'image space'.

If you have SIO2PC or a disk drive, you can import/export images to/from the image space using the '>' and '<' commands while in the image space menu.

I believe there is another method involving the myidetool program that can write the images directly to the CF card, but I have not used it. Both methods should be documented in the MyBIOS documentation.

Maybe Sijmen can check my advice here, since MyBIOS is his software. :-)

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:09 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Images can be copied to/from with the DriveManager LBA2 on your PC.
This is the easiest way since most users download their atari-software :)

Or from a real 1050 or other SIO-connection using > in the image-menu.
This menu is called holding START down after loading F2 and you are in the MyBIOS 4.8.0x screen.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:55 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
mr-atari wrote:
Images can be copied to/from with the DriveManager LBA2 on your PC.
This is the easiest way since most users download their atari-software :)

Or from a real 1050 or other SIO-connection using > in the image-menu.
This menu is called holding START down after loading F2 and you are in the MyBIOS 4.8.0x screen.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Thanks for the tip on the program. It works great!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:58 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
Is it possible to change discs when using images? For instance if I'm trying to play a two disk game and it asks me to insert the next disk?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Time to read the manual :)

You need to copy the disk in sequence to image space.
After booting:
Use SHIFT+CONTROL+number to select a disk.

Example:
Dallas-quest, disk 1 -> slot 0004 and disk 2 -> slot 0005.
Boot disk 1 (slot 0004) when asked press SHIFT+CONTROL+2 for disk #2.
Up to 8 drives are supported.
Always handy to have a saved game disk (this example in slot 0006.)
Remember to unprotect this disk after selecting SHIFT+CONTROL+3 with SHIFT+CONTROL+U

Later!
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:24 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
mr-atari wrote:
Time to read the manual :)


Honest I did! I must have read over it. I do apologize. However thanks for the help here!

[edit mr-atari]
no problem, it was cynical :roll:

Did you manage to update to the 4.8.06 workbook?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:07 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
As a matter of fact I did. It worked great. I have been playing with it for the last couple of days.

I do have another question though. Is there just some atr images that are not compatible while trying to run them from the image space? For instance "Conan". I was able to get to the "flip disc" screen when I executed the atr with the fat32 loader, but when I run it from the image space it crashes before it ever gets that far. I would assume that there will be some incompatibility so is this normal?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:08 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Yeah, some programs also use the OSRAM were the F2-MyBIOS runs.
That will conflict and crash the system.
Some simply will turn OSRAM off and go back to the (internal) OSROM without IDE-support.
There is one solution for this: replace the OS in your ATARI with the R2-rom.

Or try to find patched versions or converted to XEX from the internet.

The F2-OS has some hooks and tricks to survive the programs but will not always be alive.
Not must to do about this, sorry.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updating the MyIDE II Cart?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:22 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 10
Can the replacement roms still be purchased? I searched Google and came up empty, although I may not be using the correct terminology.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron