It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:27 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New User Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:37 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:21 am
Posts: 3
I just received the MyIDE-II Compact Flash Cartridge and pre-configured card. Very excited to get the old Atari 130XE up and running again. I have put several games onto the flash card and most work with success. However, I do have some that will appear to load and fail or the game has multiple disks (e.g., Ultima 4 or Summer Games) and ask to insert disk 2. Based on my limited use and knowledge of the cartridge should I assume that you cannot play the games that are on multiple disks? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New User Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Well, yes you can, but it's more for advanced users.

Best is to update your cartridge with the myide-only files.

In a nutshell:
With mybios or myide-only, you can swap disks.
They must be in sequence in image space.
Shift-control-number selects the relative disk.

But as I said, you need the learn to work with the advanced system.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New User Help
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:27 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:21 am
Posts: 3
mr-atari wrote:
Well, yes you can, but it's more for advanced users.

Best is to update your cartridge with the myide-only files.

In a nutshell:
With mybios or myide-only, you can swap disks.
They must be in sequence in image space.
Shift-control-number selects the relative disk.

But as I said, you need the learn to work with the advanced system.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Thanks for the reply. OK, I definitely like digging into this more. So in mybios I assume you can "mount" disks then? And use Shift-Control-Number to switch disks to the required disk? I will give it a shot. So far, I have really enjoyed taking a long long walk down memory lane!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New User Help
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Yes, you select the first disk in image-mode.
Then, once booted, you can swap disks with the shift+control keys.
Remember to hold them long enough down.
A beep will given when processed.

Best to flash your cartridge content to the myide-only #7 content. That holds all mybios versions from shipping to the latest. Plus all other things you need.

Nice to hear you enjoy the past.
Grtz,
Sijmen


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New User Help
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:39 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:21 am
Posts: 3
mr-atari wrote:
Yes, you select the first disk in image-mode.
Then, once booted, you can swap disks with the shift+control keys.
Remember to hold them long enough down.
A beep will given when processed.

Best to flash your cartridge content to the myide-only #7 content. That holds all mybios versions from shipping to the latest. Plus all other things you need.

Nice to hear you enjoy the past.
Grtz,
Sijmen


Hi again...well I finally pulled myself away from the fun and games....I want to tackle this image-mode. I have been looking all over the place (YoutTube, forums) but I am not seeing anything that really walks through the steps. In my request, I would a game, like Ultima IV. It has 4 disks. I am unclear the steps to make this happen where I can hit the shift+control keys. Thanks for your responses...they have much appreciated!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New User Help
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:36 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Yes, sure.

Working with MyIDE-partitions is for advanced users, so you have to understand the why / why not yourself.
MyIDE-partitions are different then PC-partitions, nor can you read both or interact between them on the Atari.
The MyIDE-manager helps you on the PC to transfer disks (ATR) to from your CF-card.

1/
You need to update the cartridge content first.
http://www.mr-atari.com/Mr.Atari/MyIDE-ONLY/
Version #7 is the latest.

[Download and read the manuals found here]
http://www.mr-atari.com/Mr.Atari/MyBIOS/

2/
Then you need on your PC the MyIDE-manager.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1592

3/
Now, pop the CF card in your PC-reader start the manager.
Copy the ultima disks in sequence on the image-partition.
If the CF has no MyIDE-partition, it will complain I guess.

>Then you have to run the MyIDE-menu on the atari
>!!! This will delete all data present, so make a backup of your files first !!!
>Select 2 (MyIDE-only), select 1 (myide-menu setup)
>Just do auto init, exit/save
>goto 3

4/ Once the disks are on the CF.
Boot the atari, select 2, select 2, select the first diskette (arrows/enter or joystick/fire)
You are back in the bootscreen, image-mode selected and ready to go.
Most likely the disk boot does not need BASIC, so press enter.
This boots disks 1.

5/ when ever you need to switch disks.
press/hold shift+control+number and wait for the beep.

Remember that in image-mode, disks are write protected, so if you want to save to a mounted disk:
You need to press/hold shift+control+P (toggle protection) and wait for the beep.
Then save your game status.

Try dallas-quest first, to get going and getting used to MyIDE-partitions.
This one works 100% sure.

Ultima, I don't know.
MyIDE-ONLY is most likely compatible, if not, you can try MyBIOS-RAM-FMP


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron