Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish ROM
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1378
Page 1 of 2

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish ROM

FAT32 Loader works funny. Sometimes when I load an ATR image it uses OSB-load even though it isn't marked as such. Maybe 50% of the times this happens. Nothing seems to happen when I press ctrl-O, it still uses OSB-load. Last time it was Yoomp.atr. This happens when I don't use MyBios. Since MyBios on my machine seems to be less compatible than without I usually don't use it for games.

MyBios works very poorly when used with games. Almost always the soft reset function stops working. And Shift-ctrl-1 and 2 never works when used with Image space.

I think you change into swedish character set using Shift-ctrl-3 (or maybe it's just ctrl-3) with this ROM version. I guess both the Loader and MyBios doesn't like this. The loader seems to first display square brackets around OSB, but as soon as you move your cursor keys they display like the swedish åäö. But Yoomp.atr didn't have any special characters in it's path, so I'm confused why this would load as OSB.

Any tips, someone?
Is the ROM chip socketed, usually in the PAL 130XE's?
If so, Is there anyone out there who sells a more compatible one?

/Thomas

Author:  mr-atari [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

April-fool joke? :-)

I didn't know there is a Swedish rom.
Can you send me a dump?
In DOS you can dump $C000-FFFF, zip and upload here.
Also I need $5000-$5800 with bit 7 of PORTB=0 (the selftest-rom).

Beside this, the MyBIOS should work nicely, what CLPD-core are you running?

Later,
Sijmen.

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

No, no joke.
Unfortunately I don't have any means to transfer the dump to a PC. I could save it to an Atari disk though and send it to you by post. If you could give a little more information on how to dump the rom to a file it'd be good. It's possible through DOS 2.5, or do I have to use MyDOS?

/Thomas

Author:  mr-atari [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

You have a MyIDE-][, so you can dump it to CF.
Then zip and upload what you saved to it :-)

The easy way is to use the debugger in assembler (included in MyBIOS).
Set PORTB to #$7E with MyBIOS loaded and save $5000-$57FF and $C000-$FFFF to "disk".

Later!
Sijmen.

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

How exactly can I transfer the files to the PC? I mean you can't write to the FAT32 filesystem on the CF-card directly from the Atari, can you? Is there a program on the PC that can read the image space portion of the CF-card?

I'm sorry, but my programming knowledge is limited to C and C++. Assembler is greek to me.

BTW, Im running MyBios 4.8.05 (20130105)and FAT32 loader (20130110).

/Thomas

Author:  roye [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

THOMASSU63 wrote:
How exactly can I transfer the files to the PC? I mean you can't write to the FAT32 filesystem on the CF-card directly from the Atari, can you? Is there a program on the PC that can read the image space portion of the CF-card?

I'm sorry, but my programming knowledge is limited to C and C++. Assembler is greek to me.

BTW, Im running MyBios 4.8.05 (20130105)and FAT32 loader (20130110).

/Thomas

This link has a OS dumping program. So put it into an atr and run. It will ask for filename for the dumped OSrom and save to atr.

http://www.horus.com/~hias/atari/hipatch-1.30.zip
Take the CF card out of MyIDE II and put into PC and copy the atr you saved out to different drive folder..

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

I'm trying to find this MyIDE drive manager LBA2 program that's mentioned in some threads, but can't find it.

Anyone?

/Thomas

Author:  roye [ Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

THOMASSU63 wrote:
I'm trying to find this MyIDE drive manager LBA2 program that's mentioned in some threads, but can't find it.

Anyone?

/Thomas

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1318

First post by Mr Atari

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

It's also in the MyIDE-][ download section:
viewtopic.php?p=6960#p6960

First you need to setup a D1: with the MyIDE-MENU.
(load MyBIOS, press/hold START+SELECT+OPTION).
(Make a SD disk of 720 sectors)
Save/exit.
Power down.
Move the CF to the PC.
Use the manager to copy the ATR from HIAS to D1.
Safely remove the CF.
Back to the ATARI and boot MyBIOS, press enter for normal boot.
This will start the ATR now in D1:

Later,
Sijmen.

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

I've dumped the ROM now. I hope the file is Ok. I dragged it from the image using Altirra drive browser.

Thanks for all the assistance.

It seems I misremembered it was Shift-ctrl-2 which turned on swedish characters and shift-ctrl-1 switched back to US chars.

/Thomas

-Edit: removed file. Download the proper one a few posts below instead.

Author:  mr-atari [ Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

Ha, now I made a mistake.....
The dump is of the MyBIOS, not the swedish rom. :-(
This is because MyBIOS is in control when you do the dump, not your OS.

Ok, different approach:
First copy the hias disk to IMAGE-space (on the PC).
Then copy this IMAGE to your 1050 with the "<" option.
Now reboot the ATARI without MyIDE and make the dump to your 1050.
Again reboot with MyIDE and enter IMAGE-mode.
Copy your 1050 disk with the sump to (an other) image with the ">" option.
Then on your PC, use the manager to save this ATR.

Later!
Sijmen.

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

Can't seem to get < option in image_space to work. It just makes a quick noise, and no red screen.

Transferring to the cart from the 1050 works fine and formatting the 1050 works ok, so it's nothing wrong with the drive.

The < key on my keyboard are one of the few keys that have changed (labels) for the swedish layout. But it's located to the left of the > (which isn't labeled).

/Thomas

Author:  THOMASSU63 [ Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

Used file copy instead. Here is the real deal.

/Thomas

Author:  mr-atari [ Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

Ok, nice work :-)
I'm away/busy for a few days, more Atari-time next week.
I'll let you know what I find here.

Grtz,
Sijmen.

P.S. I think you need to update to version #6 to make "<" work.
If I remember correctly this is one of the bugs still present in #5.

[edit]
Just re-read the update thread, "<" won't work and is on my to-do list.
Sorry.

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Strange behavior with MyIDE-II on 130 XE with Swedish RO

THOMASSU63 wrote:
FAT32 Loader works funny. Sometimes when I load an ATR image it uses OSB-load even though it isn't marked as such. Maybe 50% of the times this happens. Nothing seems to happen when I press ctrl-O, it still uses OSB-load. Last time it was Yoomp.atr. This happens when I don't use MyBios. Since MyBios on my machine seems to be less compatible than without I usually don't use it for games.

MyBios works very poorly when used with games. Almost always the soft reset function stops working. And Shift-ctrl-1 and 2 never works when used with Image space.

I think you change into swedish character set using Shift-ctrl-3 (or maybe it's just ctrl-3) with this ROM version. I guess both the Loader and MyBios doesn't like this. The loader seems to first display square brackets around OSB, but as soon as you move your cursor keys they display like the swedish åäö. But Yoomp.atr didn't have any special characters in it's path, so I'm confused why this would load as OSB.
/Thomas


Ok, I flashed my 130xe with this swedish ROM.
(Do you know the source or origin of this chip?)

SHIFT+CONTROL+1/2/3/4 works nicely in image mode.
Also in normal mode it disables the correct IDE-partition.

In the FAT-loader, brackets stay brackets, tried CONTROL+O on .XEX files
No problems.

loaded yoomp.atr, works fine too.
.ATR files are loaded with the OSB-rom, so that is normal.

So, back to square one.... :-(

What firmware is your CLPD running?
My Maxflash Cartridge Studio says: Cartridge Hardware version #00000005
When I select: cartridge/program/MyIDE-II Display Hardware Version.

(This is the latest update needed for my 800XL with bad timing-signals)

Later,
Sijmen.

BTW:
I get the selftest in swedish, so the flash is ok.
But shift+control+1/2/3/4/etc does not switch to the other character set.
This is without the MyIDE-][ inserted.

Also:
MyBIOS has it's own keyboard-routine, so disabling/enabling the char.set wont work anyway.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/