It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:00 pm




 Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: .atr file problems. Please Help
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 1:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
No, sorry that varies.
If you look between the keys and see a brown PCB it's the older type.
This one has sockets for sure.
If you see plastic flex-foil it's newer and may vary.

Can you burn eprom's?

Other wise you can hack the game in question and remove the offending code that writes to PORTB.
I normally do that in a jiffy, but Phantasia it's the DOS that uses a strange CIO-command.
Was not able to remove that (yet).

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .atr file problems. Please Help
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 6:48 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:31 pm
Posts: 10
mr-atari wrote:
No, sorry that varies.
If you look between the keys and see a brown PCB it's the older type.
This one has sockets for sure.
If you see plastic flex-foil it's newer and may vary.

Can you burn eprom's?

Other wise you can hack the game in question and remove the offending code that writes to PORTB.
I normally do that in a jiffy, but Phantasia it's the DOS that uses a strange CIO-command.
Was not able to remove that (yet).

Later,
Sijmen.



I shined a flashlight and looked in between the keys and it appears to be silvery grey in color, so I guess I have the newer one.

Negative on the eprom burning. I had to google it to find out what it was, LOL!

I doubt I have the hacking skills required to remove the code.

you're my only hope obi wan :wink:

Cheers,
Rob


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .atr file problems. Please Help
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 10:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
I'll have a look, soon.
But This one is not easy.

Perhaps you can transfer the files from this disk to a standard DOS2.5 ans see what happens?
Not sure, when you press RESET during booting you get D1: on screen.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .atr file problems. Please Help
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 10:17 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Are you still waiting for obi-wan?

Or did you manage to transfer the files to another type of DOS?

Let me know,
Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .atr file problems. Please Help
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 1:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:31 pm
Posts: 10
mr-atari wrote:
Are you still waiting for obi-wan?

Or did you manage to transfer the files to another type of DOS?

Let me know,
Cheers,
Sijmen.



Yea, I'm lost obi-wan. They're several other games that I can't get to run either. I guess it's the same issue.
I did however buy a Atari 520st and I was able to make a set of floppies for Phantasie that run just fine on it. :lol:


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron