It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:19 pm




 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:01 pm 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
HI

Myide 2 works fine on my 800xls and XEgs (ntsc)

but

the fat 32 and SIDE loader don't work on my pal 130 XEs,
have to tighten the cart and eventualy the card is read
seems the plastic is not strong enough for a tight fit on the "hanging"130 XE slot

the atari area and the flash cart part work ok though :?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Send Steve a P.M.
I guess you need the core-update for late productions of 130XE's


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:17 am 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
Send Steve a P.M.
I guess you need the core-update for late productions of 130XE's



can you attach it here?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
I don't have it.
-sorry-

Its a special core made by Steve (atarimax) for troublesome XE's.

Original topic by Marius found here:
viewtopic.php?p=7427#p7427


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:57 am 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
I don't have it.
-sorry-

Its a special core made by Steve (atarimax) for troublesome XE's.



can't get an answer from Mr Tucker... :|
when you get it , please attach it here

i have the problem with both my pal 130 xe's
so maybe it's not a minor issue


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:00 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Steve can be busy with medical-exam, please be patient, he will reply.

I can't help you here, its his specialty and CLPD-related.
Nothing to do with my MyBIOS that also runs also on the cartridge.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:57 am 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
mr-atari wrote:
Steve can be busy with medical-exam, please be patient, he will reply.

I can't help you here, its his specialty and CLPD-related.
Nothing to do with my MyBIOS that also runs also on the cartridge.



Still no answers at all,
And you run this forum and can't provide help...

Won't buy anything from atarimax again
That's no way to support people who can't get your device to work as it should
on an entire range of 8 bit machines :|


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Sorry that I can't help you.

Steve is the guy who made the CLPD-hardware.
I can't send you the update since I do not want to be responsible for bricking your hardware.
Normally Steve wants you to do some addition tests to see what the problem really is.

If you say, I don't give a damn, then I send you the latest CLPD-core I got from Steve.
You need the USB-programmer to update the CLPD-core-program.

Let me know,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Issue is not solved by p.m.

Steve, when you read this post, please reply to the topic-writer.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:47 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
If the issue is really caused by a not-tight-enough cartridge in the XE slot, this is not a problem with the MyIDE interface, but with the cartslots of those XE's.

The cartshell itself is not doing anything, and the PCB of the MYIDE cart is 'fat enough' to be good connected inside the slot (even without the plastic house).

I have also had that issue what topicstarter described. Using another CF card fixed that issue.


Also: do not use Mac OS X for FAT32 format, it is not 100% compatible.

I could confirm btw. that the latest released CPLD firmware fixed all my other issues, so if you could upgrade to the latest firmware, do it. I know Tucker could also do it for you, if you do not have such an USB programmer of your own.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:17 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
I already send the latest CLPD-core.
Did not fix the problem.

XE-slots are worse then XL, I agree.
Most issues are bad contacts, that's why I dominantly use XL's ;-)

I have send a p.m. to Steve too and left it for him to solve.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:48 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
I had this issue especially with larger CF cards (like 1 or 2 GB) ... the smaller ones worked fine.

The problem (here) was that the FAT32 program written by Steve reported that NO FAT32 card was inserted, and the SIDE loader gave garbage on the screen.

I suppose it is always desirable to have information like this, to make it easier to find the problem.

It's now waiting for Steve indeed.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:53 am 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
Sysop*Marius wrote:
I had this issue especially with larger CF cards (like 1 or 2 GB) ... the smaller ones worked fine.

The problem (here) was that the FAT32 program written by Steve reported that NO FAT32 card was inserted, and the SIDE loader gave garbage on the screen.

I suppose it is always desirable to have information like this, to make it easier to find the problem.

It's now waiting for Steve indeed.



i'm using kingston 4gb cf cards
they work great on XEGS and 800 XL

so they SHOULD work on 130 xe too...

but ,as i said
since i'm getting "0" support from Mr tucker i guess i will go for ide 2.0 on those machines

this was my last Atarimax Product!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
Perhaps a stupid question from my side, but are you 100% sure that you did install the latest version of the FAT32 loader?

I understand your frustration, and although IDE+ 2.0 is absolutely great (I use them a lot) I think your MyIDE deserves a second chance.

Give it some time, eventually things will get right.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems on 130 XE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:46 pm 

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 19
Sysop*Marius wrote:
Perhaps a stupid question from my side, but are you 100% sure that you did install the latest version of the FAT32 loader?

I understand your frustration, and although IDE+ 2.0 is absolutely great (I use them a lot) I think your MyIDE deserves a second chance.

Give it some time, eventually things will get right.



Using
last FAT32 Loader (ver.20130224,
made february, when Tucker still cared)

it takes years to build a good support reputation,
but just a few months to ruin it...


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron