It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:32 pm




 Page 3 of 4 [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:42 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
What EPROM speed should I be buying to flash R2?

27C512 are available at 100ns/120ns/150ns/200ns, are they all compatible or should I get faster ones?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 3:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
The atari runs at 1.79 Mhz, making a 550ns cycle-time.
The CPU/EPROM needs some time to setup address-lines and other stuff, say 150ns.
So any EPROM faster then 400ns will do fine.
I guess you do not find slower then 400ns anymore :wink:

For XEGS you need 32k (27256).
No extra wires needed, just plug-and-play.

For a double OS (with a jumper/switch) you need 64k (27512)
After burning:
Solder a 4k7 resistor from pin 28 to pin 1 (pull-up)
Solder a jumper/switch from pin 1 to pin 14 (ground)
Don't put pin-1 in the socket, bend it up/side.

[edit]
You can use 27512 also for a stand-alone-os.
Just burn the 32k-file doubled to 64k


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
Can I just use the eprom burner to dump the content of the 32K ROM for the XEGS?
Should I just tell the crappy software that it is instead a 27256 and just read it out?
[I'm not sure I've seen a ROM section in my cheap EPROM burner, just for the purpose to dump stuff out]

Also I'm interested in purchasing U1MB and it apeears it works better with RE than R2, I am aware that I need to flash RE/R2 in it as one of the 4 OS but be as it may, my question is about RE vs R2.
Are the 2 almost as powerful or should I play with RE instead of R2?

Last question, the "R2-menu" ROM that I see in the workbooks, what is it for?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Yes, you can read out the XEGS-rom when selecting 27256 eprom.
The upper 16k is the OS, lowest 8k is basic, second 8k is missile command.
Double the file extracted and replace the top 16k with the R2 from the download-post.
Burn that in a 27512 and follow the jumper-instructions posted earlier.

With U1MB you do not need the burner is has room for multiple user BIOS.
This can be flashed into the system. :mrgreen:
I have no U1MB, so no info at my place.

Using RE or R2 that is up to you, with U1MB you can use both I guess 8)

The MENU-file is what is says. The MENU for the R2-OS. :roll:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 1:34 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
Sorry for the delay, I finally managed to socket the ROM, needed a 28pin wide socket to arrive, I am still waiting on a few 27C512 that I ordered then I can attempt flashing R2 (or RE) and see how it goes.

I noticed here viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1310&p=7228#p7228 that all future updates for F2/R2 will be in 4.9.xx, guess I will try that once you feel like you've got something to share.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
I will upload any stable MyBIOS when ready.
Until now, I only produced unstable and versions containing bugs. :?
Although the 4.9.xx version has no reset-menu, it works better.

Just go with the versions you find on the forum.
Remember that each version has it's own "manual".
Some versions have better performance and functionality then others.
Just read and browse, then pick the OS of your choice.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 1:45 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
I managed to flash a 27C512 with (in that order
Basic (8K)
Missile Command (8K)
R2 OS (16K)
Basic (8K)
Missile Command (8K)
R2 OS (16K)

It comes up but I noticed that I cannot get to Basic, if I use the Help menu and press B I get into Missile Command, is it possible they are inverted? [same if at power on I press the option button, the select button at power on brings up the reset menu instead]

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks.

Now I need to test things that gave me trouble in F2 but works in R2, if only I could remember .... anyway I'll figure it out.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:12 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Ok, it seems you need to swap BASIC / MISSILE-COMMAND.

The sequence I recalled from memory, seems flaky :lol:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:37 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
Yeap, that did it:
we should sticky it somwhere that XEGS rom is:

Missile Command (8K)
Basic (8K)
OS (16K)

In that order.

On a side note I am waiting for a U1MB to arrive to see how to make it work all together [I mainly care about the extra RAM].
I wonder, if I reformat my cart with an APT partition, any chance I can share the same CF with the SIDE2?
[bought one of those too to make sure I can flash the U1MB with R2/RE in one of the slots, hopefully I can put the flasher ATR into SIDE2 and let it happen, the best would be if I can do it from MyIDE2 but I'm not sure].


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Yes, you can.

Re-INIT the CF with the IDE_menu and choose manual.
On the question APT-partition? type YES :)
All information you have is lost.

Now you have APT/MyIDE/FAT32 on one CF.

APT-partition is physical separated from MyIDE-partition.
FAT32 is shared.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:30 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
That is exactly what I did :)

On a side note I noticed that now my 4GB CF is split into 1GB FAT32, 1GB APT, 2GB image/partition [call it custom MyIDE].
Luckily 1GB is plenty for Atari SW, at least according to my needs, so the shrunk FAT32 partition is not a big downer.

I guess that to handle the APT partition I'll have to use SDX.

I wonder if it would be better to give the user more power to choose the layout of the partitions rather than split into half for FAT32 vs MyIDE then again into half the "FAT32" in case APT is required. Maybe a better way would be to ask for the sizes required.
The auto split part works probably best in case of reinit without loss, I had to go thru with it a couple of times because a FAT32 sorter screwed up the FAT32 so bad that the only way out was to reinit. I did loose FAT32 content but nothing on the MyIDE2 custom partition was lost, awesome work. Obviously I had to recreate the MyIDE partitions but because their content was already in place everything worked without a hitch [I had to remember their size and order obviously].

Once I receive the U1MB + SIDE2 I will see if I can share the CF for the purpose of flashing on OS slot of U1MB with RE/R2 and I'll report back, I know there's this flasher ATR to be used I hope I can do it from the FAT32 rather than the APT, we will see.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Good input, it's on the todo-list

8)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:21 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:27 am
Posts: 98
Location: United Kingdom
phoenixdownita wrote:
That is exactly what I did :)
I wonder if it would be better to give the user more power to choose the layout of the partitions rather than split into half for FAT32 vs MyIDE then again into half the "FAT32" in case APT is required. Maybe a better way would be to ask for the sizes required.


Or even - use a common partitioning format for all new interfaces, then there'd be no need to chop the card up with a pizza-cutter. :) One can dream...



_________________
The Last Word, MA65 Assembler, RIF SpartaDOS Utilities, XEDIT
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:43 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 34
Got my U1MB as already reported with the issue of not being able to boot any ATR from its companion SIDE2, then yesterday got an eprom burner so I managed to get MyBIOS R2 onto it.

It works as expected so now I can have multi OS + mem exp + MyIDE2 support (thru R2).

For some reason I still cannot flash my U1MB from SIDE2, I can't boot any ATR, not sure why.
Without this feature every time there's a new OS I need to physically extract the flash chip of U1MB which is pretty annoying compared to CTRL-F on FAT32 loader.

I hope one day to get this SIDE2 ATR loading issue fixed, the only reason for me to buy SIDE2 was as a flasher for U1MB, if they ever decide to support U1MB flashing from SIDEloader or dedicated XEX all the better as I could use MyIDE2 without other external components.

Anyway there you have it, MyBIOS R2 + U1MB + MyIDE2, perfect combo to load pretty much anything.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with using multi disk ATR or ATR in general as imag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Nice to hear about the R2 inside U1MB.

Perhaps you should contact Marius about flashing.
He has/had several units and knows more about it.

Later!
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4 [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron