It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:35 am

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Information on the MyIDE-II
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:46 pm 

Hi. I am new to the Atari world and I have a question about your MyIDE-II cartridge. I understand that this cartridge comes with 512KB of Flash memory but what exactly can this be used for? I am trying to decide if I want to purchase a MyIDE-II cartridge or the APE kit.

I'm used to the Commodore 64, and I have an EasyFlash3 cartridge which allows me to add ROM images to the cartridge and select them at startup. Is this similar to what the MyIDE-II cartridge can do? Also, since it has the ability to used compact flash cards, can those cards be used to store diskette images and/or hard disk images?

Any information you can give me would be appreciated. I'd like to make a decision soon and get the right tool.

Post subject: Re: Information on the MyIDE-II
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:48 am 

The flash-rom is for the menu, fat-loader, MyBIOS and other user-select-able ROM/EXE files.
This is seen/used as ROM. To program this area, you need some skills, perhaps SIO-2-PC/APE or
other means of putting the new ROM-image into flash. The new FAT-loader also makes this possible.
But be careful not garbage the flash-area (this will brick the cartridge)!

MyIDE-][ also has 512k SRAM that can be used as Ramdisk, user or Readonly to run BIN-files loaded from FAT32.
The CF can be used for loading from FAT32 without the use of MyBIOS.
or with the BIOS loaded (to enable the CF-port) to read/write as if an atari-drive.

With the aid of PC-tools, you can transfer atari-files from/to CF were the use of FAT32 is the easy way :)

Later,
Sijmen.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 2:52 pm 

So, when you say "other user-selectable ROM/EXE" files, does this mean that I can take ROM cartridge images that I have and write them to this flash memory space which I can then select to run when I want?