It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:41 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Hi all, just got my MyIDE][ in the mail. Last week in preparation, I fixed the keyboard on my 1200XL using this technique.

http://www.retrobits.net/atari/keyboard.shtml

It worked great! So fast forward to today. Got the MyIDE, got the flash cart, I'm ready to go. Well, for some reason the keyboard has reverted to not working again. My start/select/option buttons work, but the whole row of keys starting with the A is non-functional.

Is there any way I can set up the flash cart via the PC with the correct BIOS without going through the Atari?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Not sure what you mean, but the atarimax-menu is joystick usable.

The MyBIOS needs the console-keys (these work, you write), Image-mode [start] is also joystick usable.
But for some functions you always need keys to type in data......

Grtz,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:36 am 

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for your reply. So I have to format the CF card with MyBIOS on the atari itself--there's no way to do it with a PC? I need to type "A" for one of the fields in the partitioning process according to the video, and am unable to do so due to the faulty keyboard on my machine.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:00 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1371
Location: netherlands
Ah, yes, to init a card with MyBIOS, you need to work on the atari first.
Once all is setup, you can transfer files etc on the PC.
But for now, you can stick to FAT32-only. (?)
Just format on the PC, put your favorite games on the card and use the atarimax fat32-loader.
:)

When you want to use MyBIOS, you need a working keyboard.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:02 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
If you already want to enjoy your MyIDE ][ why not use a FAT32 only card? You could fill it with a lot of ROMS and XEX files, and enjoy it.

As soon as your keyboard is repaired you copy the entire FAT32 content of your card to your PC, then you initialize your CF card again, but now WITH MyBIOS partitions and ATR partition, and then put everything from the original FAT32 part back to this newly created FAT32 partition.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I get this to work without a keyboard?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:03 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:19 pm
Posts: 5
Marius, that was just what I needed to know! Pretty much everything I want to play is a rom or xex, so now I'm up and running!


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron