It is currently Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:05 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: error 160
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:54 am 

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 10:11 am
Posts: 6
Just got myide 2, why do Atari hardware makers do no instructions??????
anyway, using a 130xe i set up drive but under my dos set up the drive but cannot format it , just get an error 160, no lights on the cart are on.
any ideas
thanks


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1383
Location: netherlands
The manual and instruction are online on this forum.
#160 = false disk-drive.

You have to be more specific, sorry.
When the lights are off, the CF-card is in power-down.
What card did you use and what logical drive did you create?

Could be an user mistake, could be hardware-failure.

Load MyBIOS, go-to MyIDE_menu (Start+Option+Select).
Do a init using the manual, save and exit.
When logical drives are created, you can "see" them in MyDOS, pressing the Drive-number.
If not, with HELP you can hot-swap and altar logical partitions.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:19 pm 

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 10:11 am
Posts: 6
Thanks for info
I have no problem setting the card up ect, but when I goto mydos and setup the drive and try and format it, it then get the error


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1383
Location: netherlands
Ok, do you need help then?

I need to know what partitions you have created, how you boot, what you see and what drive you want to format........

And, to be sure, the firmware of the MyBIOS you use (shown shortly on the boot-screen).


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:31 am 

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 10:11 am
Posts: 6
Hi
Think I have this sorted thanks, found a step by step guide and got it working, a few last questions

what is the size that a Atari format , IE 65535, how many drives can I have on a 1gb
using a 1gb cf cart would it take half of it (500mb)
to load games I need to set a partion up as fat32 and copy my games on to it and then use fat 32 loader, is this correct
thanks again


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:22 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1383
Location: netherlands
madgitty wrote:
Hi
what is the size that a Atari format , IE 65535, how many drives can I have on a 1gb
using a 1gb cf cart would it take half of it (500mb)
to load games I need to set a partion up as fat32 and copy my games on to it and then use fat 32 loader, is this correct
thanks again


As many as the myide-menu can handle (14), but this is overkill.
Be sure to move images UP when you run out of logical-space.
(see the manual)

Yes, you are correct.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 125
Location: Galactic 0,0,0
Mr Atari,

Is half the IDE sector always wasted or could we reclaim the other half by assigning it as the second device or slave device and using logic of a sort to utilizer the other half-sector and not touch data already in first half of sector? Just crazy idea I had.... hoping that the ide would not zero the first half of sector.. I have foggy memory of some old IDE behaviour that worked in that way... they did it for speed... this sometimes made recovery of or what was thought lost data recoverable....



_________________
_The Doctor__
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error 160
PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1383
Location: netherlands
How about sparta_dos_x?
SDX uses the full 512bytes in QD-format.

The current IDE-code does not have the function to map 2x 256bytes or 4x 128 bytes in one physical sector.
Sorry.

And it would not be compatible with users who have a media that does not support 8 bit-mode,
needed for this 512 bytes access.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron