It is currently Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:38 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:21 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
Hi

so I have a myide-II, and an 800xl. Bought the miyide from atarimax less than 6 weeks ago.

I have initialised the first partition via the mybios menu etc (as per, I think, the video provided in one of the sticky threads) and then copied dos files across to it, so on boot all seems to work.

Ive then downloaded what purports to be 4 x 16mb atr images of games; non-high speed sio patched. from here: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/194094 ... llections/

do I need create 4 x 65535 sector partitions, double density, and initialise each one i.e. provide one partition /drive for each big ATR?

I ask as which ever way I do this when using the myide drive manager LBA2 under windows, it always returns with "image too large" and fails so I'm wondering if I have assumed something very obvious..

thanks all

ps I am reading the manual!:)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1401
Location: netherlands
Yes, you first need to create 4 large 65535-DD partitions with valid drive numbers to use them with the manager.
For example you can use D2:...D5:
When you run out of space, use the image-option to move the boundary up by 1 (=256 cylinders).
You will loose all images uploaded to that space.
Then save/exit.

Now move to the manager and copy the 4 16mb partitions.
That should work.

Back on the ATARI, goto the MyIDE-menu and use the change or swap function.
Make one of the big partitions D1:
Save/exit/coldstart.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:10 am 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
Hi, thanks for the response

no joy yet I am afraid.

I've initialised the card on the atari, set 4 partitions up D1 to D4, tried formatting them in mydos, everything i can do wrong it seems I have. I've also done the same D2 to D6 and changed them to D1 etc with no change.

under images in mybios I have also moved the boundary +1, and saved.

On the myidedrivemanager v0.95 SDX LBA (hopefully I'm using the right version) there's 2 tabs, if I try to load it into slot 1 from the image tab i get the error 'file too big' etc

there also seems to be a load option on the partition tab too "select file to write to partitition 1" (??) but that returns 'cannot open"

I'll take some screenshots to show what i've done on the atari and what's showing on the pc.

so really i dont know what I'm doing !

Sure I will get there. I bet its something basic! thanks for your help! Iain

ps I'm using 16mb images I found at ravenlist.com (google turned those up looking for non high speed sio 16mb game images) - are they known good?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1401
Location: netherlands
Yes, the 16 mb disks are good, I have and use them too.
They should be here on the forum too.
No need to search the internet for them.

Ok, These disks must be copied to partition-space, not image-space.
Image-space is only for boot-able standard single/multiple diskettes.

I see no screen shots......
Here is mine, the partitions I use (here: 3 - 6 / myide-menu: C - F) are now (in my screenshot) disabled, so you can't copy them in the manager now.
First you need to assign a valid drive number to them.
Like 4,5,6,7 then restart the manager.
Select the partition you want to write to and then use WRITE_ATR_IMAGE-button and select the 16mb file.

success, you will get there.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:49 am 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
thank you! I will try tonight, and will report back!

thanks, think this is where I got it wrong. :)

iain


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 4:48 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
Hi,

I started afresh. [I]nitialised the card on the atari, [M]ade 5 partitions

[I], then i to add 1 to the image space (i just pressed 1)

saved

[C]hanged them in order to add drive numbers d1 -d5, saved

d1 is 360 sectors (OK?)
D2 to d5 are 65535 each

Into mydos via shift,[O] to configure the drives with the correct partitions and formatted each of them via the [i] option

Screenshots: 2 on the atari, however note mydos reports D2 as less sectors than the others (??) but mybios states its 65535?
Attachment:
photo 2 (1).JPG


Attachment:
photo 1.JPG


Screenshots on the windows pc and the error:

Attachment:
ScreenShot010.jpg


Attachment:
ScreenShot011.jpg


Attachment:
ScreenShot012.jpg


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 1:13 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1401
Location: netherlands
You did all correct except for one thing on your PC.....

Oh, ok, the directory (or file-names) on your PC can not have space or other non-letters.
The clue is in the error message.
Change the name of your subdirectory and try again.

8)

That is all.

You do not need to use MyDOS to format the drives, the images them self are bootable.
The manager will overwrite all sectors anyway.
Less room: MyDOS also creates a DIR and bootsectors, that's why it is less.

360 free sectors for D1 is not correct.
I think MyDOS has screwed-up. This sometimes happen.
With the option O, remove drive 1, set to non-configurable, format, write DOS to D1:
Done.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:58 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
good day all :)

Right, so once I got into my head to load the 16mb images into partition space and not trying to load into 'image space'.. well, doh, it of course works brilliantly.

the menus all work great and all seems logical.

And my Windows pc path had spaces in, so once i got rid of those - it loads the images in perfectly, huzzah!

Only thing i have to do now is silly, but I seem to have forgotten in mydos: honestly how can i admit this.. I have forgotten how to dir a big image like this and load /run a .com or executable file. so I'm in mydos and 1,2,3, dir a drive but then what. Nuts isnt it, I have been so spoilt by loading .atr's and from aspeqt and using the brilliant atarimax flash carts I have forgotten how dos works:(

The ide however has the advantage of massive space so whatever happens I shall enjoy finding out!

thanks v much for all your help, loving it,

Iain


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1401
Location: netherlands
:mrgreen:

<number>
to DIR any (ROOT) drive.

A
to DIR any (SUB)
pointed out with the R command.

L Dx:<name>
to load and execute.

---------------------------------------

But these BIG disks have picodos on them.
cursor-controlled, highlight and load.

Do like I (most people) do:
Assign D1: to the BIG disk you want to use.

enter the MyIDE_menu, change the BIG disk you want to play to D1:
Swap is the easy way, select the current (letter) Partition with D1: and the (letter) BIG disk.
Save/exit.
Reboot or use the powerup in the menu


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:21 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 18
and the penny finally drops!

it works really, really well! Picodos helps doesnt it. I now see what you mean by swapping drive 1 with one of the big images, in future i can go into MYBIOS, swap another drive, shift back and bingo, I have another great wadge of games to browse through.

Fantastic bit of hardware and software, another atarimax gem, thanks for your help!! :):):):)

Iain

PS as I couldnt find what I needed on first scan, I've attached a few sceenshots in case this thread helps anyone else in the future: so once they've set up the partitions and drives and got the big images loaded, can see the context of swapping the image (here I've just swapped C and A over), plus seeing what picodos etc looks like.

and a gratutious shot of Flip n Flop :)


Attachment:
photo 1.JPG

Attachment:
photo 3.JPG

Attachment:
photo 4.JPG

Attachment:
photo 5.JPG


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: large 16mb ATR images, partitions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1401
Location: netherlands
Perhaps some advice about drive-numbers.

When you have a partition that is not in use, best is to blank the drive-number to nothing, "-".
This way, you keep drives-numbers free for use other use like SIO or APE.
Simply use the Change option, and press RETURN for drive-number.

One drawback, for myidemanager partitions must be enabled to R/W to.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron