Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Error 160
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1937
Page 1 of 1

Author:  lisablessing [ Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Error 160

I'm somewhat new to this. I am trying to set up FAT32 on my new Atarimax MyIDE II. I have watched the setup video and I seem to be hitting a dead end.

I set up the partition and then run the MyDOS 4.53 rescue loader. I follow the steps as shown in the video, but when I go to Select Item (1), right before I go through with formatting, I get Error 160. I have deleted started over half a dozen times trying to figure out what is getting me to this error but am having no luck. Thoughts? I'm trying not to throw this thing out a window. :lol:

Using MyBIOS v4.8-B3
Screenshots attached

Author:  mr-atari [ Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Error 160

OK, first, can you downsize your screenshots to 25%?
Remove them and upload smaller pictures.
Can't see all at once ;-)

FAT32 is the PC-partition on your CF-card, so you need to put your card in the PC.
It will see a freshly prepared unformatted FAT32-container and asks you to format is.
Say: yes.
Than copy the files you need to the card, safely eject, done.
These files you can load with the atarimax fat-loader found in your boot-menu.

Your screenshots:
MyBIOS uses a different partition on the card, specific for the MyIDE-hardware.
Error-160 is a standard message for a unreadable format.
Format the drive before doing directory.
But: Please consult the manual and then the quick start part.
I recommend not to have a 16mb partition as drive one.
MyDOS has some quirks and when it does, you need a standard drive 1 to recover.
So D1: 720s SD and D2: 65535 DD.
Use D1 for system files only and D2 as you like.
After setting them up in the MyIDE-MENU, you need to (re-)format them with MyDOS.
But all is explained in the quick manual.
These partitions are only accessible on the atari using mybios.

Later,
Sijmen.

Author:  lisablessing [ Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Error 160

Hi Sijmen,

Thanks for the reply and I apologize for the size of the screenshots, I did this on my phone.

Can you post a link to the manual you are referencing? I want to make sure I am looking at the same thing you are.

Author:  mr-atari [ Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Error 160

viewtopic.php?p=6957#p6957

I changed the pictures for you.
No problem.

But remember, FAT32-portion is PC-usage, not MyBIOS.

Author:  lisablessing [ Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Error 160

I got it working. Thank you so much for your help.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/