Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2111
Page 1 of 1

Author:  GregSS [ Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:07 pm ]
Post subject:  MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...

When I plug in the MyIDEII cartridge, either with or without a CF card, all I get is the Atari system test screens when I power up.
I have 2 800XL's and they both do the same thing. If I boot without the cartridge plugged in, I get to Basic, and other cartridges work as well.
My question is, did I somehow damage the MyIDEII by plugging it in with a blank cartridge? I expected the boot menu, but it seems as though I have a unit that has lost its program.
Can I repair it somehow?

Thanks for any advise,
GregSS

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...

Hi GregSS,

First: you need to contact Steve about guarantee-issues.

Sorry to hear about this.
Yes, when you switch on, you should get the boot-menu.
Now, did it worked before and you could work with it, or did it arrive like this?

Grtz,
Sijmen.

Author:  GregSS [ Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...

I have had the unit for over a year now, but I was working on a project with the Atari 800xl and did not really test it out (I have a side2 and that was storing all my programs).
So, now I went to test it out and it seems I have done something to wipe the cartridge out.
I will pick up another and be more careful in the future.

Thanks again!
GregSS

Author:  cruvola [ Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...

I have a similar issue with my Atarimax IDE 2 as well, and did reach out to Steve and got a replacement, but am still having the same problem with one minor exception. I just get a back screen.

I can get the Atari max to work via the following method, but it seems to defeat the purpose of having the card over an SIO unit.
1. Do not plug the Atarimax IDE 2 cart, and turn on the 800xl.
2. Now that the unit is powered up and you have the basic screen, plug in the Atarimax IDE2. (I'm never sure that this was the safe option)
3. Press Reset on your 800xl.
4. After a second or two, you are now in the menu.


I have also tried this on two separate 800lx units which I own, and a 3rd unit that a friend has an all got the same results..

I'd really like to have the cart just load up the way it seems to be working for others. If anyone has any suggestions that I can try, or can point me in the right direction to get this working, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
cruvola

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: MyIDE II, plugged in booted 800xl and nothing...

Seems to me like the same random boot-up issue, seen on another topic...

Can you look into this?
viewtopic.php?p=11137#p11137

Grtz,
Sijmen.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/