Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Sparta DOS X 4.42
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=774
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Stephen [ Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:37 am ]
Post subject:  Sparta DOS X 4.42

Hey guys - here's the latest version of Sparta DOS X 4.42 for the 8Mb cart. Awesome since it has built in help files for 76 commands on the cart!

I have posted a bug with this version however - it's not recognizing my R-Time 8 cart. Everything else seems OK so far.

*** EDIT ***
Here's the link. http://trub.atari8.info/index.php?ref=sdx_upgrade_en

Stephen Anderson

Author:  trub [ Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:34 am ]
Post subject: 

It is the hardware issue, which SDX cannot handle: Maxflash 8Mb and R-Time 8 carts are not compatible The hardware register areas overlap, so accessing one of them also affects the other. An access to date/time R-Time8 registers switches the MF8 to an unknown bank, that SDX doesn't expect (this is due to a partial decoding logic of MF8).
That's why RTIME8.SYS (CLOCK.SYS) driver has been removed from MF8's default CONFIG.SYS (it caused a lockup on startup in previous versions). It should have been entirely removed from the CAR: device. R-Time8 should work with SDX for Maxflash 1Mb.

Author:  Stephen [ Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:32 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks! I will stick with the 1Mb version. Glad to know nothing was wrong with my setup.

Awesome work to everyone involved.

Stephen Anderson

Author:  _The Doctor__ [ Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:05 pm ]
Post subject: 

I found a way to reflash the spartx carts without pushing the cart in the already running Atari

1 load the maxflashspartax atr image into either APE or your D1:
2 put spartaxmax 1 or 8 meg in atari
3 turn on atari
4 type basic at D1: prompt
5 type B. or BYE at ready prompt
6 hold option and press reset at selftest and continue holding option

it will come up detected and ask if your sure! say yes now you can go from 4.39 to 4.41 to 4.42 no problems!

any thing that lets you get to the selftest diag screen seems to let you do this!

I should have clarified that this is meant to be a catch all for any cart that does not respond to the maxflash bypass or for failed flashes when you can still get to the selftest even if the system won't let you perform the standard cold procedure and is reset resistant.

Author:  GoodByteXL [ Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:26 am ]
Post subject: 

_The Doctor__ wrote:
I found a way to reflash the spartx carts without pushing the cart in the already running Atari

1 load the maxflashspartax atr image into either APE or your D1:
2 put spartaxmax 1 or 8 meg in atari
3 turn on atari
4 type basic at D1: prompt
5 type B. or BYE at ready prompt
6 hold option and press reset at selftest and continue holding option

it will come up detected and ask if your sure! say yes now you can go from 4.39 to 4.41 to 4.42 no problems!

any thing that lets you get to the selftest diag screen seems to let you do this!
_________________
_The Doctor__


This is odd - since the command "COLD /N" does it directly from the command line. Of course you need to read first about how to use SDX ;)

Of course with the 8MBit version you'll find it using "MAN COLD | LESS" in nice readable form. :)

if you change a running system, you'll start the fun part ...

Author:  _The Doctor__ [ Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:31 am ]
Post subject:  Goodbyte's Sparta Manual link

I think a link to your site will help out.
So here it is!
http://home.arcor.de/walter.lojek/MyATA ... SDX_US.HTM
I can't get it to print in booklet form but it can be read on screen or printed as a full size sheet with very little page swapping to get it all in order. Looks like a lot of work went into this! We thank you!

Author:  GoodByteXL [ Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Goodbyte's Sparta Manual link

_The Doctor__ wrote:
I think a link to your site will help out.
So here it is! ...


hey - it was already there !!!

Did you notice the button [www] on the bottom of each message window ? ;)

BTW, direct links will turn into a dead link with changes on web pages ...

Quote:
I can't get it to print in booklet form ...


It is in European A5 size 14.8mm x 210mm.

Author:  _The Doctor__ [ Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:38 pm ]
Post subject:  sorry bout that

I always like to post the direct link as well as the root or homepage link so I guess it's my bad habits again :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/