It is currently Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 2 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 2:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1432
Location: netherlands
Hi Rick,

Very very strange. Steve always send out tested stuff.
He offers life-time guarantee, so perhaps a good idea to start contacting him.
He is always busy, so a couple of emails and time on Facebook is needed.
Else I send him an email for you.

I tried to read mine, but my TOP853 does not do these micro-controllers... :-(
Perhaps the eeprom is empty?
That is something I could read, need to find my adapter to DIL first.

Grtz, Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 11:59 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:26 pm
Posts: 16
I do not blame the product at all - this has been sitting on my parts shelf for a year I think.
so it could have gotten static zapped by shifting it around or whatever. its why I'm thinking the firmware just needs reprogramming.

but you bring a good point - ill try and read the chip to see if its that or something else.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2021 11:19 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:26 pm
Posts: 16
dumping the chip didn't reveal anything at all.
so my 32in1 is just black screen on stock and WizzTronics 256k machines.

I guess ill need to just buy another :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1432
Location: netherlands
Do you need an image for your eeprom?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1432
Location: netherlands
This is what I have on file (*).

*/ The original file I have was 1024k to be burned in a 8mb atarimax cartridge.
Since this cartridge uses the same flash-eeprom as the warp-OS.
So what you basically did, was abusing the 8mb cartridge to reprogram chips.
Then use only one of them for the warp-OS (the 8mb has 2 of these 29F040 chips).
Very convenient when you have no burner ;-)

Anyhow, this 512k file should work perfectly


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2021 12:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:26 pm
Posts: 16
awesome! I give this a shot when I get back from doing things :)
thanks a ton!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 11:31 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:26 pm
Posts: 16
reflashed and still getting the black screen. like i said though; this module has been moved around my shelves quite a bit, so no telling what i did to it on accident.

ill just order another :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32-in-1 Ape Warp OS
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:52 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1432
Location: netherlands
OK, pity I can't read the PIC-controller.
Also it's strange it does nothing.
You could try this as last test to see if the controller is OK.
Just burn the REV_2 BIOS (the stock atari one), 32 times in a row into the eeprom.
Now when you boot-up, the PIC-controller, no matter what, selects the REV_2.
If that fails to, yes there is something wrong with it.
Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron