Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface information
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2380
Page 1 of 1

Author:  OverDhill [ Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:11 am ]
Post subject:  Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface information

I have an Atari 800, an Atari 810 with Happy Drive and a plain 810 drive. I would like to know if I can use the Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface to hook up one of my Atari drives directly to my Windows 7 64 bit PC and make ATR files from my original floppies without using the Atari 800. My main purpose is to use some programs I wrote with an Atari emulator.

If so what software would I use on the PC to copy the floppy to an ATF file on the PC hard drive?

Author:  mr-atari [ Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface informatio

Yes, that is possible.
What I noticed that the atari must be ON also.
Otherwise the siopc did not communicate with the drive.

Author:  OverDhill [ Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface informatio

So I would need the Atari computer hooked up also? I keep reading places that you can just use the floppy with the PC.

Author:  mishap [ Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface informatio

OverDHill

You should be able to make images without the Atari 800 attached.
Just run an SIO cable from the SIO2PC to the 810 or 810/Happy drive.

While I have not done so, my understanding is that everything on the SIO bus must be on for the A.P.E. and/or ProSystem to work properly. However, you do NOT need the 800 attached to copy disks.

I have been using my old 810/Happy and an Indus GT just fine, though with both attached (and the drive IDs set at 1 and 2) the system only sees the Indus drive for some reason. I suspect that the 810/Happy isn't as happy as I'd like.

Good Luck

Author:  mr-atari [ Fri Sep 07, 2018 1:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Atarimax Universal SIO2PC/ProSystem interface informatio

My guess is that the 810/1050 need the 5 volt to "see" there is an active system to address to.
That's why I mention this.

I noticed I can only make images when on the other end is an atari.
It just needs to be "ON", nothing else.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/