It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Getting new Atari rig going on
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:01 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:53 pm
Posts: 3
Back in my early teens I seen my first computer, an Atari 800. I was awed with it and wanted those games :) yes i had him copy some games on my 5 1/4 disks i bought that summer (about 30 disks ) I picked up my first 800xl and 1050 disk drive. Then in 1985 I started my BBS the Atari Castle a dedicated phone line with my 130 xe and 2 DD 1050 drives, 850 interface 1200 baud modem, that lasted a few years. ( I still have a 1050 with a write protect toggle and a few parts ) Anyways, i am buying off ebay a cherry atari 800 in the box :) and getting my sio2pc cord. And im looking forward to it, oh i Nick named your sio2pc the nerd cord. haha im sure that is what it will look like but that is great. L8R

White Knight


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Computer showed up DOA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:54 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:53 pm
Posts: 3
Well i got that atari 800 about a week ago and got it hooked up yesterday for the first time and it turns the picture on the screen a bit darker when turned on and sometimes makes a PC beeping sound when turned on, i checked the ram and it was in tight, I guess I'm going to have to take the pc boards out and look it over before i sent it back to the the guy from ebay. No picure from 2 cartridges and no picture on memo pad. This is such a nice looking machine too, ill eventually get a working one.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:36 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 12:21 am
Posts: 251
Did you try taking out the ROM and RAM boards and putting them back in? Also, taking a pencil/pen eraser to the contacts on those ROM/RAM modules might help.

I bought an 800 some time ago that had similiar issues and managed to get it going just by taking the cards in and out a couple of times. The contacts can oxidize and not conduct properly sometimes.... this is afterall a 20+ year old machine that may not have even been used the last 5 years.



_________________
MyIDE Tools
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:02 pm 

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:53 pm
Posts: 3
Last night before reading this I completely took it apart taking care to make sure the ram and rom were seated good and taking a flashlight and carefully looked ovr the PC boards but found nothing, pushed all the chips in securely, everything looked good, of course i have no idea what i'm exactly looking for except for the obvious, i put the machine back together and it is still acting the same, me and the ebay guy worked it out and he refunded half of what i paid for it, so im getting another atari 800 and keep the old one till i can get it repaired or for parts. Got my iso2pc cord in yesterday, Very surprised at how small it is.

White Knight


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: