It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SIO2PC, EXE, ATR, keyboard problems ...
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:38 am 

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:23 am
Posts: 1
Location: France
Hope I'have post this topic at the right place.

I'm an Atari 800 owner since the 80's.
Every 5 years, the only way I knew to secure datas was copying my softs, and the Happy I bought in 1985 help me in doing. In fact, I lose some of them. Few days ago, I bought the SIO2PC interface. What a peace of mind now, In 1 day, I backed up 60% of my softs and, It's the icing, I'have found on the Atarimax site some of the games I have lost in the past.
Unfortunately, some of them are .EXE, and I'm looking for a way to change them in .ATR, but without success.

There is my first problem because, since yesterday, I'have another one, more annoying : when I switch on the 800, I have some "O" (zeros) more or less all over the screen. "BOOT ERROR" is written "BOOD ERBOB" or "ERROB". With the basic cartridge inserted, I'have "BEADY"..
When I press "Q", I get "AQAQA", same for "X","XHXH", "S" "CSCS","W","R", and "F". The other keys work normally.
Is it a keyboard problem or something more serious ?
Can someboby help me for these problems ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SIO2PC, EXE, ATR, keyboard problems ...
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:52 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
[quote="yuma310
There is my first problem because, since yesterday, I'have another one, more annoying : when I switch on the 800, I have some "O" (zeros) more or less all over the screen. "BOOT ERROR" is written "BOOD ERBOB" or "ERROB". With the basic cartridge inserted, I'have "BEADY"..
When I press "Q", I get "AQAQA", same for "X","XHXH", "S" "CSCS","W","R", and "F". The other keys work normally.
Is it a keyboard problem or something more serious ?
Can someboby help me for these problems ?[/quote]

This is a new one for me, I've never seen this.

From what you describe though, I would suspect either a power problem, or a RAM problem.

Try removing all three RAM cards from the computer. Then insert one card and boot the computer with only 16k. Remove this card and repeat with the other two cards.

This should help you narrow down which card is defective if it is a RAM problem.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron