Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

is a floppy drive really required?
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=685
Page 1 of 1

Author:  MoonMist [ Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:53 pm ]
Post subject:  is a floppy drive really required?

Hi,
I recently bought an Atari 800xl via ebay since I've always wanted one when I was kid, but never could afford it.

I am very interested in the USB version of the SIO2PC, but the fine print on the webpage states that an Atari computer AND a floppy drive are required but not included.
While I can understand the requirement of the Atari computer, is a floppy drive really required?

Or, with only the SIO2PC USB, would I be able to load a disk image someone else has created?

I am hoping a floppy drive is not really required, since I do not own one and would much prefer to use an emulated drive via APE.

Author:  classics [ Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: is a floppy drive really required?

MoonMist wrote:
Hi,
I recently bought an Atari 800xl via ebay since I've always wanted one when I was kid, but never could afford it.

I am very interested in the USB version of the SIO2PC, but the fine print on the webpage states that an Atari computer AND a floppy drive are required but not included.
While I can understand the requirement of the Atari computer, is a floppy drive really required?


No floppy drive is required. You can download disk images from the internet or create your own.

Quote:
I am hoping a floppy drive is not really required, since I do not own one and would much prefer to use an emulated drive via APE.


APE also comes with a program called ProSystem that allows you to access a 1050 or other disk drive directly. Thats the only part you *need* a disk drive to use. :)

Steve

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/