It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Unable to determine base port address for COM4...
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 11:52 pm 

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 7:35 am
Posts: 3
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
First of all, I was reading this forum and found that this topic looked close to my question, but I wasn't positive if it was the same so bear with me.

I am setting up a new (sort of) laptop which does not have any real serial ports. I am using a USB Serial device similar to this one.

I run through the APE configuration wizard and everything looks cool. I then start APE and then an error in the status area says:

"Unable to determine port base address for COM4"

then says:

"Serial port COM4 opened sucessfully. APE is ready."

When I load an APR and then boot the 800XL, it boots like there is no drive present.

When I use the DOS version of APE on a different laptop with a "real" serial port, it all works fine.

Could it be that APE (when using the RS232 bits) cannot make use of a USB serial port b/c it doesn't have a physical (and electrical) address inside the computer? (What I mean here is that I figure since the USB Root Hub is managing the resources for USB devices, the address is more or less virtual.)

Any thoughts?



_________________
I hold my 'Option' down
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 4:48 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
USB->Serial adapters do not work with APE, you will need a real RS232 serial port with 16550 compatible UART to use a RS232 adapter.

You *might* be able to get ProSystem to work with it, but the timing on USB->Serial adapters is usually so awful it won't work even if it recognizes the port.

There is a specialized USB SIO2PC device available for sale here that supports SIO2PC and ProSystem with APE.

http://www.atarimax.com/sio2pc/

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 11:07 am 

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 7:35 am
Posts: 3
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Looks like I am heading for a new interface! I was just looking at the stuff you have for sale and I don't see a deal that bundles the software registration and the USB SIO2PC unit. Am I missing something or do you just need to order both units independantly?



_________________
I hold my 'Option' down
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 12:57 pm 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
I have not updated the web site with any bundles, but you can get a USB interface and APE registration for $99.95 + $5 shipping directly from me.

If you do want it just send me a PM with your e-mail address and I can send you a PayPal invoice for the bundle. If you order them separately using the web forms it will be about $7 more.

Thanks

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron