It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:21 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:42 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:32 pm
Posts: 32
Given I'm using a flash drive with MyIDE there isn't much to gain with a Ramdisk, but I tried to set one up anyway. It seems to get confused during boot-time. It attempts to move DUP.SYS onto the Ramdisk but is unable to find drive 1.

Then, I tried booting with a drive mounted as drive 1 using APE. It booted from the flash drive (drive 1) but then it started copying DUP.SYS from the mounted drive (also MyDos)

In either case, after it finished that, I get a black screen.

The whole thing works when all the drives are mounted with APE using SIO2USB.
I used MYRD2 instead of RAMDISK.COM
(http://www.mathyvannisselroy.nl/special%20stuff.htm)

Has anyone gotten a ramdisk to work with MyIDE? I should mention I have the RAM 320XL upgrade.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
I use the ramdisk that is build into MyDOS and it works nicely.
On 64k/128k/256k-XE and 256k/2Mb CPU-only expansions.

Never tried the MYRD2, is it worth the try?

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:53 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:32 pm
Posts: 32
Well, since I can't get it to work with myIDE, probably not :-) but anyway -

MYRD2.ARC Lee Barnes worked on the old RAMdisk driver (RAMBOOT 3. That's the latest version we/he found/had a source code of.) and this is the result:
The "D0:" format bug is removed, so your "D1:" will no longer be formatted when MyDOS thinks there is no RAMdisk and the RAMdisk driver thinks there is.
On cold boots, it now checks if there already is a valid RAMdisk. If a valid RAMdisk is found, it will skip formatting the RAMdisk, keeping the files in it save. This only works if the existing RAMdisk was created by MyRD(2). Pressing 1 will also skip the RAMdisk formatting.
MyRD2 does an auto detect of the RAMdisk size when the computer is cold booted. MyRD does not.
Eliminates the need for USPRAM9.AR0 (see above).


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:49 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:32 pm
Posts: 32
mr-atari wrote:
I use the ramdisk that is build into MyDOS and it works nicely.
On 64k/128k/256k-XE and 256k/2Mb CPU-only expansions.

Never tried the MYRD2, is it worth the try?

Later,
Sijmen.


How do you get the build in ramdisk to work? I have it configured for a drive, but there is always just scrambled junk showing up there.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
I use the O option, then hit enter on every question.
On the last question (drive number) enter 8.
MyDOS sees the extra ram and does a size check.
Must be standaard XE or CPU-only expension.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE + MyDos + Ramdisk Problem
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:57 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 329
Not if you use a MyIDE. :wink:

Neither MYRD or MYRD2 work with my the MyIDE OS (that I've tried). I use 3.5, 4.3 mostly. RAMBOOT3.AUT has bad bugs -- don't use it. RAMBOOT.AUT works great with MyIDE.

BTW (to the original poster) -- the MyDos ramdisk is way faster than than MyIDE/flashcard (and to be fair, way faster than most HD systems using MyDos). In most cases, that isn't of too much value, but if you need R/W speed for something, the ramdisk is ~4 times faster than MyIDE. If you are interested in speed comparisons, look at this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1046

-Larry

mr-atari wrote:
I use the ramdisk that is build into MyDOS and it works nicely.
On 64k/128k/256k-XE and 256k/2Mb CPU-only expansions.

Never tried the MYRD2, is it worth the try?

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron