Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Unable to format
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1114
Page 1 of 1

Author:  hangdoc [ Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:13 am ]
Post subject:  Unable to format

Got MyIDE cart and have tried 2 CF cards via an CF/IDE adapter. Can set partitions but get error from MyDOS each time I try to format. Anyone encountered this problem? Seems to make no difference if use pin 20 power or external power.

Paul

Author:  mr-atari [ Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to format

Hi Paul,

That is strange, formatting is a quasi-dummy routine and should give no errors.
The only errors that can occure are DOS-related and/or due to wrong partitioned.
Can you start over and only create a D2: 720 SD?

After you did INIT, please check if the parameters on the screen are correct.
(Incorrect parameters result in a non-working setup).

After save/exit, restart the atari and re-enter FDISK. Check if the D2 720SD is saved.
Now boot a MyDOS disk in D1: (1050, ape or other SIO-device).

Try to format D2: (post the error-number)
Write DOS to D2:
Re-start and enter FDISK.
Change D2: to D1:
Re-start.
Does MyDOS now boots from IDE D1: ?

Later,
Sijmen.

P.S. You are on firmware 3.5F, yes?

Author:  hangdoc [ Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to format

Firmware is 3.5F. Will try your suggestion Sijmen and let you know. Have connected a 3.5" HDD and had limited success. When tried to copy files over from ordinary atari DOS with Mydos, the directory on the HDD was nonsense. Also found the HDD setup froze after a number of minutes requiring restart. Using an external 3.5" enclosure with its own power adapter. Will try a different drive. The error the CF card and Mydos gave was #163 or #160. If that is any help.

Cheers

Paul

Author:  mr-atari [ Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to format

-stil on holidays-

power via pin20 is fine, it's saver then external power
Did you check the CHS values after init?
163/160 are dos io-errors not finding the sector requested.
Can you post the type/brand of CF card and the CHS values reported.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/