It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:16 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:31 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:15 am
Posts: 18
Hi

I have two 800xl atari computers, both have an internal myide device, firmware 4.6 Beta.
Now 1 is working good, the other also works except that I cannot lauch games from the image space.

I tried reinitialize the cf card, CHS are correct, reload games, but does not help.

strange thing is that I did put the working atari his cf card in the one that does not work. So changed the CHS parameters, loaded the cf card, I would expect games and images space to work, but then nothing works.

Any ideas? CF cards usedare 512 Mb, 128 Mb, 2 Gb

thanks for suggestions


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Hi,

Not sure, the problem with loading images, you mean that holdig START does not bring-up
the image-menu (init-issue)? Or when you select an image it does not load (bios-issue)?

The 4.6 beta bios has a other type of retry-logic, that I have to debug. It stops loading
on certain IDE-errors.......

Once a CF card is configured and works, you do not have to change the CHS.
The CHS is stored on the media itself and read by the MyIDE-interface.
So a working card should work on any MyIDE. No matter what type.

I have some issues with older cards (64mb and 256mb) in 8 bit mode to support 512 bytes/sector,
but that has nothing todo with your issues here, except that the partition-software (that uses 8bit
mode on devices that support it for detection) does not correctly detect CHS. You need the latest beta 4.6
(version #6) where I have changed the detection-routine to support these older media.

Re-init will only detect CHS and overwrite the partition-table.
Deleted partitions can be re-entered when you know the exact size and sequence you had.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:59 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:15 am
Posts: 18
the image space menu is displayed, and I can select an ATR.

but they stop while loading. screen turns red.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:43 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
red = fatal error (loading IDE).
So this is a bios-issue.

I'm working on it with the new beta.
Could take some time because I have other priorities until november.

Can you please try on that atari the previous BIOS? 4.3i and check if you can load images?
The CF card does not have to be changed, it works on the 4.3 bios.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:00 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:15 am
Posts: 18
that works! :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Ok, thanks, so I have some work to do.....

;-)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:04 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:15 am
Posts: 18
Hi

we did some more testing , first upgraded myide to 4.6b8 ,with the image space issue,when loading an atr, at some moment the screen turns red.
the, when switching the atari off and on (fast) the atr continues to load and then it works.

This is happening on 1 of the 2 atari 800xl computers, the othet atari has no issues. Can it therefore be an hardware issueof theatari itselve?
some kond of reset issue???

thanks for the help


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cf card and 2 atari 800xl
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:08 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Hi pkriek,

I'm still working on the issue of the RSOD. It's an unsupported BIOS-entry caused by (most likely)
a not detected error during IDE-IO. The wrongly loaded data from IDE is executed and crashes the
CPU.

The fast on/off switching of the atari does a re-boot with the saved setup from your earlier session.
So it reboots the last image loaded. This is a hidden feature for a later release :-)
I guess the data loaded the 2nd time was a lucky error-free load from IDE.

Still working on how to fix that. The 3.5F bios is more reliable in detecting IDE-errors and thus
slower in IDE-speed. I need to find a faster way to check IDE-errors and keep speed > 20k/s....

Hardware-wise it's a incompatibility issue between IDE/Atari. This can be fixed with a extra 74LS573/220pFcap.
(read the forum viewtopic.php?p=5788#p5788)

The beta8 update has mostly HSIO-fixes, I'm still working on getting HSIO reliable on real 1050 hardware.
Happy 1050 has bugs, speedy runs fine, SIO2SD upto HSIO=3.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron