It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:21 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Newbee question
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:46 pm
Posts: 2
I purchased an Atarimax MyIDE+Flash

I don't know if this should work - maybe someone knows: I had an old - but working - IDE harddrive of 2GB with external power.

The first thing I tried was partitioning it using the FDISK command. If I remember well - initially the MyIDE status went to "READY" (not 100% sure). I was not able to partition it though.

Now all I get is "BUSY OR LOCKED" status - whatever I do. ( also getting the "FF FF ..." status when debugging the IDE interface )

Question 1) Would this be because an IDE harddrive is not supposed to work? Or would the cartridge be broken?
Question 2) Should I be getting the "READY" status if no IDE device is connected?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

Joachim


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbee question
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1372
Location: netherlands
Sorry for the late reply, been busy elsewere.

Does the drive spin-up?

[EDIT]
You need to set the drive as MASTER and removed the CABLE-SELECT.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbee question
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:38 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:46 pm
Posts: 2
In the meantime I found the answers.

I had a Kingston CF card laying around. I purchased a 2 Euro IDE2CF adapter from eBay
and ... success !

I didn't try setting the HDD to "MASTER" yet. If I do, I will post the results...

Thanks.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron