Atarimax Product Discussion Forums
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/

Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio software
https://atarimax.com/flashcart/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1238
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Sysop*Marius [ Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio software

Hi!

This is what I want to do:

I want to replace the MyIDE FLASH rom from the cart, with a 8K stock ROM

My idea was this:

1. I create a bootable ATR to flash the cart. (This works)

2. As soon as I power up the Atari the Flash Cart menu is there, I choose the rom, and then my MyIDE (I have a built in MyIDE ROM in the Atari) will continue boot.

But this does not happen. As soon as I pick the chosen 8K Rom from the Flash Menu on my Atari screen, the atari does some little things and then the Max Flash selection menu appears again.

When I boot the Cart with OPTION pressed the MyIDE boots nicely, but after typing "CAR" from the DOS prompt I get back into that menu again.

I'd say this should work?
Why doesn't it?

It would be cool btw. If there were some more MyIDE options in the MaxFlash studio program. I can not use that scripting software; I simply can't get it working right, and I do not understand how it works.

Thanks a lot!
Marius

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio softw

You need to flash the cartridge without the 3.5F firmware BIOS.
(you are running 3.5F?)

OPTION only bypasses the cartridge-init, but does not disable it.
So the first rom-bank is still at A000-BFFF
I guess pressing RESET does the same as CAR

To have a selection of 8k roms, you need to create your own bootrom in bank #0.
The other 15 banks you can use for rom-images.
After selecting the rom, use the poweruproutine to restart the atari.

Later,
Sijmen.

Author:  Sysop*Marius [ Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio softw

Hi!

Thanks for your quick reply!

Your answer is very clear, and I understand what I have to do (I have a question about that though, but later in this message..)

My main question is, why isn't there more support for this in the MaxFlash Studio software. Wouldn't it be nice if it would also be possible to use the Flash part of the Flash+MyIDE cart for software? If I create a nice workbook I would like to be able to flash it to the MyIDE flash part. Perhaps I want something the hardware was not originally designed for, but still... it would enlarge the features.

About your reply: I did create a workbook, and did export this to an ATR for MaxFlash 1Mbit cart. Then I flashed the MyIDE cart with that atr. I suppose this did overwrite the Bootrom. I thought: no problem, since I have the internal MyBios ROM, but it keeps returning to the MaxFlash selector menu, so that does not work.

And now that other question:

How do I select another 'bank' by software? From what I understand from you:

Bank #0 -> Bootrom; here I put software that selects other bank (how? Where to poke what value to select other bank?... and then an exit (how? by jumping to reset? or jmp (cartinit)?

Bank #01-#0F -> 15 banks to put stock 8K roms in.

When I select the other bank, does this mean that other bank is active right away? With other words: do I have to copy my bank selection program to RAM first to prevent it will be whiped out of memory?

And one more thing:
You created years ago a brilliant MyIDE cart with Mac/65, Action and all that other fancy OSS carts.Is there a chance you will release this again, with the newest MyBios? Or perhaps a tutorial how to make this myself?

That would be really awesome.

Thanks for all your great support again Sijmen!

Greetz
Marius

Author:  mr-atari [ Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio softw

I haven't got the time to teach you all..... -sorry-

Studio-software and the maxflash-kit is made by atarimax.

The custom cartridge was a one of a kind.
BTW I have send you the info/source about this somewere around "maandag 17 augustus 2009, 13:06:35"
:-)

But here is the spec:
D500-D507 <-> IDE-access
Any access to D520-D52F will switch on (yes, instantly) bank 0-F
Any access to D530 (D53x) will disable ROM (you get the atari-ram back instantly).

Succes,
Sijmen.

Author:  Sysop*Marius [ Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Why can't I create MyIDE FLASH art with the studio softw

mr-atari wrote:
I haven't got the time to teach you all..... -sorry-


No problem Sijmen! I'll find out :D

Quote:
BTW I have send you the info/source about this somewere around "maandag 17 augustus 2009, 13:06:35"
:-)


WAAAAAAH .... Don't say you remember all those things in your own brain ;)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/