It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:25 am




 Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
I tried it today also. No luck what so ever.

used: 16mb, 256mb and 2g SD and 1G microSD(with adaptor).

When booting the atari, the card is not seen. After some power downs/ups it does see and "drive is ready".
Fdisk works and when checked on the PC card-reader, partition-data is correctly saved to sector 0.

Transfered mydos.ATR to partition1 and some ATR's to images-slots with myidetool.
Checked the card with my reader and is't fine.

But somehow the Atari does not read the data with MyIDE.
The LED stays on, meaning all bytes from IDE-buffer are not read....
Holding starts loads image-mode, first image name is displayed correctly.
Booting results in SIO trafic on D1:

shift+control+R (reload partition) does some IO, but does not help.

Hot plug-able: does not work. When myide sees the card and change it,
the next IO end in a time-out.

Pitty.

Sijmen.

I'll look into this later this month. Perhaps IO must be 512 reads.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
rdemming wrote:
Attached the datasheet of the controller chip used in the adapter.
Maybe you can get some information from it what is supported.

There is not much info on the IDE capabilities but it says: "8/16 bit databus selection for task file register accessing". So I think the chip supports 8 bit access so at least the 8 bit access of MyIDE shouldn't be a problem.

Robert


The PDF is empty and has only CONFIDENTIAL on the pages......


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
I tried the adaptor with the (not released) MyIDE_lba-mode OS.

Same problems here. Sometimes detected, sometimes not.

When detected:
Bootup screen reports there is a IDE-device present and it needs FDISK.
After running FDISK, this screen keeps popping up. Reporting it's not correctly setup. (?!)

On the PC the card is fine. All bytes are stored at the correct positions.

So, most likely, the adapter is ok, but the timing is not compatible with the atari.
I need to do further testing to check this.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
mr-atari wrote:
The PDF is empty and has only CONFIDENTIAL on the pages......


Strange, I downloaded it from this forum and it displays correctly. The confidential is indeed there but behind the other text and diagrams. I use FoxIt reader.

But here is the link to the PDF on the manufacturers website:
www.lcktc.com/imges/download/FC1306T_Datasheet_040806.pdf


Robert



_________________
Better 8 hours at work than not sleep at all.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:34 am 

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 65
Too bad about these results.

SD would have been a nice enhancement for MyIDE.

- Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Aha, some breaktrhough here!

I did some extended testing while debugging the new 4.4F drivers and found a issue with
the driver-logic on the SD-to-IDE adaptor......
After reading a sector it automatically advances to the next sector.
This is not to IDE-standard :-(

After changing some IDE-routines to work with this phenomena, I succesfully
booted from a 256 MB SD card ! :D

Changes will be included in the new OS. Read the 4.4F sticky post.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:27 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:51 am
Posts: 68
Location: The Netherlands
Great to hear even the IDE2SD adapter can be used with MyIDE. Will this also be updated in the internal IDE BIOS?

Robert



_________________
Better 8 hours at work than not sleep at all.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Yes. I will release an 4.4I/E when the F version is stable and beta tested.

Until now, No response from downloaders......

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:22 am 

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 65
mr-atari wrote:
Aha, some breaktrhough here!

I did some extended testing while debugging the new 4.4F drivers and found a issue with
the driver-logic on the SD-to-IDE adaptor......
After reading a sector it automatically advances to the next sector.
This is not to IDE-standard :-(

After changing some IDE-routines to work with this phenomena, I succesfully
booted from a 256 MB SD card ! :D

Changes will be included in the new OS. Read the 4.4F sticky post.
Great news Sijmen! Congrats!

I already purchased a 2GB CF card so that I could do full length MyIDE movies but the SD to IDE adapter is much more compact than the CF equivalent.

I was originally interested in the SD to IDE adapter because I thought it might be easy to relocate the SD card socket itself to some place more accessible on my 800XL than inside (where my MyIDE plus adapters is now).

Thanks for pursuing this issue and working out a solution.

Can't wait until an OS image for an internal MyIDE is available.

- Steve Sheppard


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:53 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 90
mr-atari wrote:
Yes. I will release an 4.4I/E when the F version is stable and beta tested.

Until now, No response from downloaders......

Later,
Sijmen.

Very cool - I will try to test this sometime over the weekend and let you know how it works for me.

Stephen Anderson


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 329
phsstpok wrote:
Great news Sijmen! Congrats!

I already purchased a 2GB CF card so that I could do full length MyIDE movies but the SD to IDE adapter is much more compact than the CF equivalent.

I was originally interested in the SD to IDE adapter because I thought it might be easy to relocate the SD card socket itself to some place more accessible on my 800XL than inside (where my MyIDE plus adapters is now).

Thanks for pursuing this issue and working out a solution.

Can't wait until an OS image for an internal MyIDE is available.

- Steve Sheppard


Hi Steve!

Which SD adapter did you get -- link?

Regards,
Larry


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:22 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 65
thewhiz wrote:
phsstpok wrote:
Great news Sijmen! Congrats!

I already purchased a 2GB CF card so that I could do full length MyIDE movies but the SD to IDE adapter is much more compact than the CF equivalent.

I was originally interested in the SD to IDE adapter because I thought it might be easy to relocate the SD card socket itself to some place more accessible on my 800XL than inside (where my MyIDE plus adapters is now).

Thanks for pursuing this issue and working out a solution.

Can't wait until an OS image for an internal MyIDE is available.

- Steve Sheppard


Hi Steve!

Which SD adapter did you get -- link?

Regards,
Larry
Hi Larry!

I didn't buy one. While waiting for the issue to be resolved I picked up a 2 GB CF instead.

I'm still thinking about this one. It's almost as small as a Transcend module.

I wouldn't be able to use it until MyIDE OS 4.4 is available for an internal MyIDE.

Regards,

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:13 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:53 am
Posts: 329
Nice!

Thanks,
Larry


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: sd card
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:13 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Arizona USA
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1698


I like this one also. It should be able to be installed so that the card can be pulled without opening the Atari case :)



_________________
Roydea6
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron