It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:15 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Infinite loop
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:31 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 3
I had Steve install an internal MyIDE in my 1200xl a few months back and I finally got around to playing with it.

So far I have no luck getting past the WaitForIDE screen. It just continually reboots.

I have tried with a Transcend module and with two 3.5 Hard Drives. I have tried not externally powering the Transcend module as well as adding an external power supply.

I am totally stumped.

Any suggestions?

Fletch


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Hold option to activate BASIC.
Default bootup is no basic.
So with no DOS and nothing to do, the system reboots (for ever).

http://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum ... .php?t=490
download and read the manual? ;-)

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:52 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 3
Mr. Atari,

I know how to get to the Ready prompt. Its actually getting the MyIDE software to recognize the drive that I am having issues with. I have the built in 4.3i firmware which I thought had the built in MyIDE tools.

Pete


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:15 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 3
I figured out the issue. The flash module and the hard drives were previously formatted on my Mac as Mac OS Extended.

Whenever I tried to to enter the FDISK program it would immediately crash. I reattached the flash module to my Mac. Formatted it as FAT and now MyIDE allowed me into FDISK.

:oops:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Ok check. You could used the shift+control+(tapping repeatedly)D at boot.
This would disable IDE.
This is a 'bug' in the internal OS. There is noway to boot without IDE.
and when the IDE is wrongly formatted you never get anywere.
You must type BYE from any language to enter FDISK in this OS.

Happy computing!
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron