It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 6:45 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3.5F and games that start by performing a reset...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:33 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
Hi.

for a while I have been playing around with the MyIDE + Flash cart... and I think there is a 'weak' part in the system.

There are so many games that start by performing a reset... and that is what 3.5F does NOT seem to like. It resets and reboots.

Is this a bug? Is this something that does not occur in version 5.0 Beta?

I remember using the Software OS (booting MyIDE OS from disk, version 3.1) and that let run much more games, than this 3.5F

The problem is this 'reset' thing. Is there a solution?

Thanks
Marius

p.s. I already asked in another thread: how to downgrade the cart to act like a normal myide interface... when I could fix this problem, I think I leave the cart the way it is.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:45 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
Today I did a little test with this problem.

Look at the list. These games work perfect with version 3.1, and fail with 3.5F.
My idea is that the only problem is this 'reset' thing, these games do, before they start:

Games that work with 3.1 (MyIDE ROM loaded from disk!) , but do not work with 3.5F:

BlueMax
Attack of the Mutant Camels
Cobra Race
Mario Bros
Moon Patrol
Mr. Dig
Ms. Pacman
Ninjamaster
Oilswell
Pacman

I'm sure this list is (much) longer, but these are the games I've tested.

I also did a backward test. My experience is that almost any game that works with 3.5F, also works with 3.1... From my tested games (32 games in total) this is the result:

7 games did not work at all (3.1 and 3.5F)
10 games did not work with 3.5F, but did work with 3.1!
2 games did not work with 3.1, but did work with 3.5F

total:

15 games did work with 3.5F
23 games did work with 3.1

I'm not sure what the testresults would be when I test more games. Perhaps 3.5F will win then, but my 'feeling' (and experience so far) is that the 3.1 version of the OS looks, feels and operates more like the original atari OS. So Sijmen, Steven or perhaps someone else: I hope someone can create a FLASHER-disk to flash my disk with the 3.1 OS.

Thanks
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:57 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
And another solution could be... if there is space...

Perhaps someone could add another option to the Flash Main Menu.

Option 4:

load OS from harddisk.

In the early days of MyIDE it was possible to store the SoftOS in the first sectors of the IDE drive. So you only had to boot a very small program from disk, and after that the Soft OS was loaded from disk.

Perhaps there is space left in the MyIDE Flash cart to put that program there. It would be the solution for me.

Anyone?

Thanks
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
You can replace the 35F by 3.1 and flash the cartridge?

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:08 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
But how...

I have been searching for info about the programming part of this cart, but or I don't understand it, or i'm missing files or there is another reason, I have no idea how to program that flash part, and I don't have a 3.1 version to program in the cart...

Anyone a suggestion?

thanks
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:28 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 259
Location: NL
With the maxflash.pl tool(s) I put the original Master31B.ATR onto the cart.

It is not the prettiest solution... (I guess you advised something else in your post?) but it works.

I'm still very happy with MyIDE and I think it is one of the nicest gadgets for the atari 8bit.

Greetz
Marius


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:23 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:50 am
Posts: 19
I "kinda" asked a similar question in this thread:

http://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum ... .php?t=805

Can you please tell me how did you actually accomplish the "downrade" to 3.1b? I really would like the games to actually work :)



_________________
Reality is nothing more than unlimited number of textured polygons
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron