It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:17 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cannot create an image smaller than 65535 sectors?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:54 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:50 am
Posts: 19
I just got my shiny myIDE Flash :) However, I have a problem with makeATR/Mydos 4.53. I followed the Paranoid's excellent guide, but if I try to create an image in makeATR smaller than the 65535 sectors, the image won't work in Mydos. I get the "error 163". The reason why I want to create a smaller image, is that I only have a 32MB cf-card at my disposal right now.

I have tried with the following number of sectors 32768, 32767, 32765 etc.

Any clues?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Did you setup correctly with FDISK?

Also you can use myidetool to transfer atr from pc to cf-card.

The atr that does not work, do you mean on the real atari or
with en emulator?

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:05 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:50 am
Posts: 19
Sorry, I was a little "unspecific" with the previous statement. This whole thing is so new to me, that I'm a little overwhelmed ;)

This is what happens:

If I run Mydos with Atari800WinPLus 4.0 and then detach the Mydos image and attach the atr-file made with makeATR, I get the "error 163". This only happens when I create an image other than 65535 sectors. I haven't tried with a real 800xl/myide yet. I ran the fdisk yesterday and succesfully created a partition to the same 32 MB cf-card. However, there was also something weird, because I first created a partition of 32768 sectors and then tried to create a partition of 65535 sectors. What happened is that the first partition is displayed ok, but the size of the second partition (65535) is shown as 00000.

Ok, I just slipped a bit off topic, but I just had to ask :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:55 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Seems to be an error with makeATR.
Why use makeATR?
With APE you can create ATR's in any size.
Mount them as D2 in the emulator and copy files to them.
Then with MyIDEtool you can transfer this ATR to your CFcard.

also mydos has a quirky bug that you need you to use the write dos option
to make a different sized disk work. After using O for setup ofcourse.

fdisk: when partitions are size 00000, the disk is full.
just delete this size 0 partition.
please read the manual about calculating disksizes.
32mb PC format is equal to 16mb (DD) or 8mb (SD) atari format.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:44 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:50 am
Posts: 19
Thank you for your advice, now I understand. I'm really sorry to bother you, but I just coudn't gather all the pieces together :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: