It is currently Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:30 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HELP!!! INTERNAL MYIDE INTERFACE NOT WORKING?!?!?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:04 pm
Posts: 8
Location: NJ
:x
Sorry I might have bad grammars...

I installed the MYIDE internal interface.
I use 40GB IDE hard drive.
I use external power for HDD.
I use 800XL with 64K.
Powered up HDD
Powered up 800XL.
Screen said "MYIDE-4.3I" next is "WaitforIDE"
It reboot and again and again never get MYIDE menu?!?!?!
But... When I press OPTION key and powered up for enable basic, it said READY then keep press stuck with J and L like this "LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLJJJJJJJKKKKKKKKKKKLLLLLL" keep going.. what He11 is that?

I tried different HDD and Compact flash all are the same.

I GAVE UP!!

PLEASE HELP.

is it bad MYIDE interface?

THANK YOU FOR HELPS.



_________________
THANKS
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:04 pm
Posts: 8
Location: NJ
Also.. I removed the HDD and compact flash. the READY show up and did not press keys itself.

I put back HDD in and it keep pressing L and K and H and others.

So.. I let boot without the basic, run on 1050 to load DOS and it show up and keep press letters itself. so I remove the HDD it stopped to press letters itself.


THANKS AGAIN!



_________________
THANKS
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1415
Location: netherlands
Homebrew or commercially bought MyIDE?

Homebrew: check wirering A0-A2.
Bought: Check installation guide / ask the seller.

Anyhow, after the ready prompt you must type BYE
to enter FDISK and setup partitons.
Then follow the online manual on the forum to setup
logical drives and images.

Later,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:04 pm
Posts: 8
Location: NJ
Bought from ATARIMAX

I see the soldering flux did not clean up?

I will do "BYE" to see if work tonight.

THANKS!



_________________
THANKS
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:04 pm
Posts: 8
Location: NJ
I got MYIDE menu whew!

I did setup partations all D1 to D8 with all 65535. it did saved.
but...

Ran DOS.
init drive error 163.

is possiable too long ide cable?
supposed be short cable?

because when I use 4.3 GB HDD with long cable and boot on basic.
after "READY"
it keep going with letters like this:
JJJJJJJJJSSSSSSSSSSLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIDDDDDDDDDJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJ
keep going..
I have to move HDD to make stop the letter pressing.

help?

THANKS!



_________________
THANKS
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:04 pm
Posts: 8
Location: NJ
Now it's worked.. WHEW!

but.. look at
http://www.atarimax.com/flashcart/forum ... .php?t=850



_________________
THANKS
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:55 pm 

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 3
Unfortunately, I am having problems very much like AtariAlive's.

I have never seen the MyIDE menu come up. The only thing I've managed to get to is the FDISK app after typing BYE from BASIC.

Installation was easy, and I have a 256M CF with an adapter that seems to be working properly. The autodetected geometry (978/16/32) appears to be correct, and I can make partitions and they persist properly. I created 16M partitions in slots 1-6 a drive D3-D8.

However I never get a response from the Image command. Whenever I type Image, I get prompted for Cyl HiByte, hit 1, and then it jumps back to the fdisk menu and the Image/Siz display is still 00 00. I have never managed to get the image 'menu' to come up, I'm assuming because the image section isn't initialized.

Any suggestions?

Now as a random bit, when I take the CF card out of the adapter, interestingly I start getting the random JJJJJJJKKLLL keystrokes too.

I'm running an 800XL rev B, with s-video and what I thought was a Rambo 320 mod but actually says "Ramaster" on the rider board. My power supply is a beefy monster I built years ago when I got sick of Atari supplies popping fuses, and it's putting out 4.99v.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:44 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 230
Location: Arizona USA
You do not have a large enough -- CF card to fit anything more than a few partitions. and possibly a few Image slots. 256 CF card divided by 2 will give you 128 MB for MyIDE storage approx.....

So you are filling it up with partitions and don't have room for image space. :(

Suggest that you make 2 partitions and let the rest be image space.

:)



_________________
Roydea6
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 6:00 pm 

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 3
Wow, ok will have to look at the math again. Didn't realize there was that much dead space. But that did get me up and running with images, thanks much.

As I have both 400/800's and XL/XEs, many of my disks are 400/800 compatible and I would use an XL Fix OS. Is that still possible with an internal interface? It loads fine, but constitutes an 'alternate OS' which I think axes the MyIDE routines, so they can't be images. How are people working around this? (If there is a workaround.)

I'm the last one to the party, but still have to say seeing Spelunker come up in about 1 second is pretty amusing!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1415
Location: netherlands
The MyIDE-OS has some patches to support older 400/800 software.

Just try and see. If they don't start, you need to find a copy of
your game that is patched for XL-use.

Cheers,
Sijmen.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron