It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:36 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:50 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
I've created a partition on my flash cart and when I try to use option 1 like the image on the screen, I get error 160. Amy I doing something wrong? I'm using a 1GB Flash Card instead of a 4GB.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 2:36 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Hi,

I resized your picture to 25%, was too big for my screen.

Memory cards should be OK.
1Gb is more then enough for the Atari anyway.

What MyBIOS firmware are you on?
Stock 4.8.xx or a different version like 4.9.xx or MyBIOS-RAM

Did you intialized the partition with option I?
Error 160 means no drive with ID=1 found, if you typed 1
Did you give the partition you made the ID=1?

Upload a shot of your MyIDE-MENU, so I can see your settings.
see example picture
Thanks.

Grtz,
Sijmen.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:01 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Thanks for the reply. I've been getting very frustrated.

The software I'm using is stock. I haven't updated any firmware or anything.

Actually, I was able to get past the error I posted. I watched another video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oltgqr ... 3S&index=4) and found out you need to go into the MYBIOS and press shift to get back so you can have the software in your RAM. I still have not gotten it to work, though. When I plug in my flash card into my Windows PC, I only see a small drive (188 MB or so - I assume that's the partition that MYIDE created) and cannot get past that. I got so frustrated with it I have put it down and needed to rest on it a while.

I will send you screen shots when I get home from work.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
viewtopic.php?p=6957#p6957

Get the manual here and follow the quick guide.
The problem you are facing is the chicken/egg riddle...

Grtz,
Sijmen


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:22 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Thank you for the guidance. I have downloaded the manual and am reading through it. It looks like I should just delete the flash card partition I've created and just follow the quick start guide (myDos).

Hopefully, this will get me up and running.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Okay, So I've started to use the Quick-Start guide in the MyBIOS revision 4.8.b3 manual for MyIDE-II.

Attachment:
IMG_2573[1].jpg


I'm using a 1GB card. I've gotten to the 5th bullet point, to press T and then A and wait. I get the following screen:

Attachment:
IMG_2571[1].jpg


On the 6th bullet point, it says to check the CHS values. Here's where I get lost. Please excuse me, but I don't know what values to expect.

Also, down futher, on the 12th bullet point, it refers to D8 and configuring it. However, in bullet points 7 and 8, we're making a partition 1 and 2. What is D8?

Also, in the last bullet point, it says to format D1, D2, and D8. We've only created 2 partitions.

Thanks in advance for your help.


There are images and/or files attached to this posting. You must be logged-in to view or download this content.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:48 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
MyIDE-partitioning:
6*
If you do not know what CHS values are, just skip this.
Looking at your screen 1966/16/63 seems OK to me.
That refers to 1014644736 bytes of memory.

12*
D8: is your optional sramdisk.

D1 and D2 you made yourself, D8 is optional and active as default.
Formatting is done in MyDOS after this setup.

During this init, there is also created a fat32-area on the card.
Then you need to format this fat32-area on the PC, before you can use it.
Should be about 375Mb on your card.

Note:
-FAT32 is a different partition area then MyIDE and is not interchangeable.
-Most terms are explained in the rest of the manual and in the topic I have linked you to.
viewtopic.php?p=8426#p8426
You have the 4.8.B3 MyBIOS pre-installed.
-When you are completely new to the Atari scene, best is to stick to fat32-loading.
-MyBIOS is for advanced users who want to work, load and save on their atari using the MyIDE-][ cartridge.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:38 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Hey, I've gotten to the point where I can get a list of my files in the FAT32 loader. Howerver, when I try to run any of them, I either get to the self test or back to a ready prompt in basic.

Is this compatible with the XEGS? Is that my problem?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Nevermind. I got it to work.

The entire root of my problems were that I was making logical partitions in windows instead of primaries.

Thanks for your help.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Slowly learning by trial and error - questions
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:51 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:11 pm
Posts: 4
I've been slowly learning by trial and error, and taking some risk.
The manual assumes the reader understands a lot of technical terms. I started on the 1200XL in 1983, and never came across some of these terms. I understand you have to assume some knowledge and start somewhere.
That said... I have some questions, if I may:

1: How is the Myide Menu used once it's set up? Do you just wait when booting up the cart, and it will boot the APT?
I think I figured out that it's the set up for a Atari Partition on the CF Card (APT).
2: What does [H[iso, [I[de, and {M]ag mean and what are they used for?
3: Is there a way to add an existing HD.atr made by the APE for Window via sio2pc, and other atr disk I have?
I've tried all the menus and nothing works. I know there is windows tools shared here, and haven't tried it yet.
If it possible to add it from the Myide Menu, could you post the steps necessary, please?
4: When doing the original ini[T], I understand that it's doing and fdisk and creating two partitions, one Atari and the other PC. Is there any way to make it give more room to the PC? It grabs most of it for itself.

Thanks in advance
Richard


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Setting up my flash card
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
APT is for use with SDX (SpartaDos X).
We had not much influence on this development of SDX for MyIDE-][, so you need to visit there site for more info.
Be aware that SDX updates your FLASH to something unusable with Atarimax in future.

APT-support is added for multi-partition users.

Follow the quick-guide to setup your MyIDE-][, that is used by MyBIOS.
If you are unfamiliar with the Atari setup in respect to working with the system, please stick to FAT32-loading.
That is working with BASIC/others or OFFICE-programs and want to SAVE/LOAD your work.
There is no need for you then to setup any partition other than FAT32.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron