It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:44 am




 Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:32 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:39 pm
Posts: 7
I just got the U1MB upgrade. Really nice piece of hardware, but doesnt play nice with MyIDE II. It works perfectly, until I try using the MyIDE cart. I can't get SpartaX to recognize any of the partitions, when I disable SpartaX then it sort of works. The main reason behind my getting and installing this upgrade was the 1MB memory upgrade and the SpartaX (with RTC builtin). It seems there are two schools of Atari8 developement and they arent talking to each other. Myself, I prefer the Atarimax school, but they dont offer Sparta/R-time8 (or a 1MB memory upgrade). It would be truly awesome if these things could work together. Any hopes on this happening?

:roll:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Marius and Louis can help you here.
They both have an U1mb and work with MyIDE.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:25 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:39 pm
Posts: 7
Ok, now if I knew who they were :roll:

Thanks for the quick reply tho...


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:29 am 

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Posts: 24
I did not have time to test U1mb together with myide.

Tell me first what versions do you use.
Did you use the flash-rom or did you use the mybios ROM inside the U1mb?

Regards,

Louis


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:03 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:39 pm
Posts: 7
I flashed the SpartaX to the partition on the U1MB. Cant seem to get the MyIDE cart to boot when I enable Sparta in the U1MB config menu. Tried reflashing the MyIDE with Mr. Atari's TEST2.mcw which added SpartaX, and got that working (kinda). How can I add the MyIDE.sys file to the SpartaX config.sys file in the U1MB? I cant get the MyIDE to boot with that enabled. There has got to be a way to get these things to cooperate.

Forgot to add version #'s:
SpartaX - 4.45 (used the file for the U1MB, which works perfect until I try to boot the MyIDE II)
MyIDE.sys from MYIDESDX_B3_161010
MyIDE cartbased SDX - from TEST2.mcw


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:40 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:39 pm
Posts: 7
OK, I think I have it figured. I did the RTFM thing with the SDX manual, and what I'm thinking (could be wrong) is there is some sort of addressing conflict between MyBIOS and SDX. And without MyBIOS in memory, SDX dont see the cart. Any way to change the chunk of memory MyBIOS loads into? Or a patch for SDX itself? Or something to get these two working together? :x


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:34 am 
ERROR AT LINE 0
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 1039
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
"I flashed the SpartaX to the partition on the U1MB. Cant seem to get the MyIDE cart to boot when I enable Sparta in the U1MB config menu."

Is this some kind of internal SDX cartridge? If you have an 'internal' SDX cartridge installed, how would that not conflict with you plugging in an external ROM cartridge that uses the same address space?

I don't have one of these boards, but from your description I'm guessing that you're trying to essentially force two devices, one inside, which behaves electrically exactly like a cartridge plugged into the port, and one outside your computer, to talk on the 6502 bus at the same time.

What you need is a ROM version of SDX for MyIDE-II (I don't think there is one yet, the 'rom image' currently posted was designed to run in RAM not ROM) with Jon's MyIDE-II driver installed into it, then flashed to the cartridge ROM, with your 'virtual' internal copy of SDX or whatever, turned off.

Steve


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:39 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Posts: 24
The U1MB's SDX can be configured in such manner that the MyIDE-2 cart is recognized.

What you need to do is to make a new SDX ROM image for U1MB.
Add the new MYIDE.SYS driver to it, and change the config.sys file.

Now, if you would boot up with the cartridge inserted, you would first get the Flash-menu of the cart.
To bypass this, boot with OPTION held.

Now, U1MB's SDX will be booted. When the MYIDE.sys driver is loaded, you will see what card it recognized.

I briefly tried the Flash version of SDX, but it conflicted with the MYIDE driver.

Hope this helps.


regards,

Louis


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
You also need the MYIDE2.SYS when running SDX as stand alone.
Otherwise the CF will not powerup.

SIO /A in combination of MyBIOS (F2 or R2) will do this for you.
Then the older MYIDE.SYS will do fine.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:05 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Arizona USA
bytecat wrote:
The U1MB's SDX can be configured in such manner that the MyIDE-2 cart is recognized.

What you need to do is to make a new SDX ROM image for U1MB.
Add the new MYIDE.SYS driver to it, and change the config.sys file.

Now, if you would boot up with the cartridge inserted, you would first get the Flash-menu of the cart.
To bypass this, boot with OPTION held.

Now, U1MB's SDX will be booted. When the MYIDE.sys driver is loaded, you will see what card it recognized.

I briefly tried the Flash version of SDX, but it conflicted with the MYIDE driver.

Hope this helps.


regards,

Louis

I have been able to use this autoexec.bat on SIO drive D1: and use the Ultimate SDX.
The Myide2.sys file is here on the Forums. Just load it onto an ATR or Floppy and add the text into your batch file.
'EXAMPLE BATCH FILE'

SET ED=20
SET DAYTIME=1
SET MAXDRV=K:
SET PROMPT=$L$P\
SET CAR=K:CAR.SAV
SET MANPATH=D:MAN
SET PAGER=LESS;/C;%
SET BASIC=K:BASIC.SAV
SET PATH=CAR:;:;H:;C:SYS;C:SDOS
POKE $2C8,$94
POKE $2FC,$C
DATE /T
if NOT $boot C:>
   a:>myide2.sys
else
   ECHO Lost in Limbo.
fi



_________________
Roydea6
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:19 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:29 pm
Posts: 9
Steve:

I have Ultimate1MB installed in an 800XL to which I have flashed MyBIOS, this works well.

I plug in the MyIDE-II and I have to hold the OPTION key down to bypass the MyIDE-II otherwise there is a lockup; can I make a suggestion that you bypass the MyIDE-II software, so that the system boots if Ultimate1MB is present.

If I hold the OPTION button down I am successfully running SpartaDOS X (the one built into Ultimate1MB). All I need to do now is configure SpartaDOS X to see the MyIDE-II FAT32.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
What version of MyBIOS are you running?
I need letter/numbers and if possible the date added to the file-name you downloaded.

If we are talking beta-versions, better to pm or email me.
This is not to confuse other users.

Later!
Sijmen.

P.S.
With SDX from the U1MB, you can not drive the IDE-port, since this SDX also uses D5xx-access.
Better is to disable the onboard SDX and load the MyIDE-][ SDX.rom with the fat32-loader.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:52 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:29 pm
Posts: 9
MyBIOS-R2-20130110.ROM (not beta)

I have now disabled the U1MB SpartaDOS X and it successfuly runs the MyIDE SpartaDOS.

There is however one problem the U1MB clock does not work because there is no driver. The driver is included with the U1MB SpartaDOS (ULTIME.SYS), but it resides on the drive called CAR: and for some reason you can't copy those files out to any other drive. That said, I don't even know if the clock would work once U1MB SpartaDOS is disabled.

So this is how I got it all working:

Flash the above MyBIOS to U1MB and select it, I also have 1088K selected everything else on the U1MB menu is disabled BASIC and XEGS game slot set to default.

Setup a drive on the MYIDE II MENU (MyBIOS), formatted with the following files:

CONFIG.SYS
DEVICE SPARTA OSRAM
DEVICE ULTIME
DEVICE SIO /A
DEVICE ATARIDOS
DEVICE RAMDISK
DEVICE COMEXE


AUTOEXEC.BAT
POKE $2C6,$0
SET ED=22
SET MAXDRV=K:
SET PROMPT=$L$P\
SET MANPATH=CAR:\;A:\
SET PATH=CAR:\;A:\


(if these config files exist on boot drive they override their CAR: equivalents)

I have left ULTIME in the config.sys as a reminder to try it, if I can get the file.

MyIDE-II Workbook:
FAT32 Loader on main menu.
MyBIOS-R2-MENU-20130110.ROM on main menu.


Booting:

1. Powerup.
2. Press SHIFT to go to MyIDE.
3. Select 'MyIDE FAT32 Loader v20130110'
4. Select SpartaDOS X.rom (this is just a renamed SDX446_myideii.rom).


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:15 am
Posts: 1376
Location: netherlands
Device CAR: has only one IOCB, so you can't copy.
You need to use TYPE > to get it out.
I had this problem getting MYIDE.SYS from the SDX-package :)
You need to have a look at the manual.

I remember something like
TYPE CAR:filename > D1:newname

Also,
You can use the D8 for ramdisk, this is mapped to the MyIDE-][ SRAM.
This saves some bytes not loading the SDX-ramdiskdriver.
No need for a driver, it's hardcoded in the MyBIOS.

Nice work setting it all up.
Thumbs up 8)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MyIDE II & Ultimate 1MB Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Arizona USA
@john.lawson 'said'
I have left ULTIME in the config.sys as a reminder to try it, if I can get the file.

I have not tried to use the ultime.sys file to read the time, but if you want the file..

TYPE CAR:ULTIME.SYS >>ULTIME.SYS

will put the ULTIME.SYS file onto the current path of atr or partition in use..



_________________
Roydea6
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron